Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Way too much pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I used brown rice in place if the barley and a bit of cumin, turmeric and red pepper to taste. My toddlers 3 and 2 loved loved loved it! Couldn't be easier to make. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I'm a big fan of this soup. I like to add stew meat. I also really like how simple this is to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poorbachelorguy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This smelled so great while it was cooking, I had high hopes. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. The shiitake mushrooms had a an unappealing texture and after one day, the leftovers were a thick and unappetizing. I'm sorry. I feel terrible, but this is my first one-star review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I have several favorite recipes from AllRecipes but have never written a review before. I LOVE this soup. I used chicken broth instead of veggie. I also sauteed an onion and a couple of cloves of garlic as another review suggested. I didn't have time to make this in the crock pot so did it on the stove top. It was ready in about an hour and fifteen minutes. I had a cup or so of baby spinach I needed to use so I chopped that and added it at the end. Also used a Tuscan spice blend instead of the savory since I didn't have savory. My meat eating husband loved this soup too. The only change I would make next time is to reduce the amount of barley and increase the lentils. I felt they were ouatnumbered! I will definitely make this again. Almost forgot. I decreased the pepper to 3/4 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jleey
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Awesome soup, had such amazing flavor. I followed the recipe to a T except I didn't use any shitaki, used a box of baby portobello mushrooms. Cooked on high for 4 hours was perfect. A really good hearty & filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I feel like this recipe called for too much liquid. But that's easily recommended in a crockpot with a longer cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
tastes great, very easy to make, but cooking it on High cooked out most of my broth, so I had to add some water. I didn't even cook it for 4 hours on high, so be mindful of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This is great. Very flavoursome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
It was edible but lacked gusto in the flavor and texture department. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States