Mushroom, Leek, Chicken Sausage and Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I must admit, this recipe didn't sound like it would wow me, but boy was I wrong! There's something about the combination of sausage and tortellini in chicken broth with fresh cilantro and hot sauce - WOW! The flavors all mesh beautifully and develop into the most tasty, delicious soup I've had in a LONG time. Definitely give this one a try - it's amazing how much flavor you get with minimal ingredients! Oh, also, I didn't have leeks on hand so I used a whole onion instead and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I am not a huge soup fan, but my husband is, so I decided to give this a go. We LOVED this soup -- my husband said it was exceptional! This soup has a surprisingly Asian taste/feel to it despite the prevalence of Italian ingredients. I used portobello mushrooms, and a gourmet chicken sausage (Saag's asiago fennel). I also cut back on the Tabasco (I used 2T) and it was still plenty spicy. My husband and I both love cilantro so I chopped up a couple tablespoons and threw it in for the last 5 minutes of simmering. LOVE THIS SOUP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I rated it a 3 the first time we made it because to me it tasted like hot dog soup. The second time at it I used a spinach and feta chicken sausage instead of a muchroom chicken sausage, Tapatillo hot sauce instead of Chalula,a spinach and parmesan torellini instead of 3 cheese, double mushrooms and only 1 tbsp of hot sauce. Now my husband and I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
One the best soups I have ever eaten and I am not a soup person. I am pregnant and LOVED this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was a great recipe... like other reviewers, I was leery of how it would come out. And not to mention, I've never really made soup and my boyfriend isn't typically a fan of soup based meals... but we were both pleased with the results. Soup did taste a bit like hot dogs, but it went well with all the other ingredients. That little bit of spicy-ness was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I have never made this soup the same twice. I always seem to be missing one ingredient, but it always comes out fantastic. One time I didn't have tortellini and used spiral pasta instead and another time I didn't have sausage and used chicken. Still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARELA10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurens, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coweta, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This really is a great recipe. I used italian sausage instead of chicken sausage as my store was out of it. I increased the mushrooms for a heartier soup and used twice as many tortellini (5 cheese!). It was to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Tasty and easy, what's not to like?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I thought this was really great. I used turkey italian sausage because I couldn't find chicken sausage at the store. My family really enjoyed it. Also was really simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This is an AWESOME soup!! I think I ate 1/2 of the pot the second it was ready. I used kielbasa instead of the chicken sausage because I think with the mushroom and leek it would be a better blend of flavors, but Im sure its great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESUBLIME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States