Mushroom, Leek, Chicken Sausage and Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
The first time I make a recipe I follow it as presented. As presented I can only give this 3 stars. The chicken sausage was bland and the tortellini began falling apart after the second heating. This is a recipe that is worth playing around with and tweaking ingredients. But it is definitely a soup to be consumed the same day made. Leftovers are sub-par.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This is so simple and so delicious!! Thank you for sharing. The broth was amazingly complex. I used the whole three tbsp of hot sauce (louisiana) and found it to be perfect. My 16 month old daughter also loved it. I did boil the sausage paices in the soup, but maybe next time I will either boil them whole and then sliced them, or fry them first and then add them to the soup. They were a bit chewy, but I think the boiling method added another element to the broth. Try this soup! Its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I love simple recipes like this that you can tweak in so many ways. I used a tube of chicken sausage as my store didn't carry links and I just made meatballs, and it worked great. I also added extra garlic, for a bit of kick. I used half stock and half broth which I think made it a little richer and a splash of white wine to finish the saute on the leeks and mushrooms, just a splash. This is the sort of recipe that can be varied in so many directions, a nice base to start with, Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dankchip

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Connor Ball
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
One of the best soups I have ever made! Only substitution I made was using 4C of Chicken Broth and 2 C of Vegi Stock. Will make this again over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connor Ball

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This would be way too spicy with all that hot sauce, but I used a little more than a tablespoon only and it was great. We sprinkled with parmesan and called it yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Made this today and I tweaked the recipe just a bit. I cut up 3 strips of bacon in 1 inch squares and sauteed that in olive oil. Then I added the leeks and mushrooms. Instead of the sausage I used 1lb of chicken breast that I browned in the pan used for the leeks and mushrooms. I cut the amount of hot sauce in half so my children wouldn't notice the heat and then I added the chicken, leeks and mushrooms to the stock and tortellini. For extra color I added about a cup and a half of fresh baby spinach (instead of parsley) that I just tore up by hand. I served it with a small salad and crusty french bread. My children even asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
So good. Don't be shy about adding the hot sauce. You could easily add different flavored tortellini, but the delicate balance of this dish is what makes it so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
What a great an easy soup. I used my dutch oven. After cooking the leeks I removed them and browned the chicken apple sausage so I could deglaze the pot with the broth. I used only 1tablespoon of tabasco and added the pasta towards the end as to not overcook. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This soup is very tasty but I only used 1 teaspoon of Tabasco sauce and I thought it had a punch to it. Cannot believe people used so much in this dish. Anyway, I used only 1 leek, spinach and feta chicken sausage and spinach and cheese tortellini. Added a handful of shoestring carrots to give it some color. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States