Mushroom, Leek, Chicken Sausage and Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I loved this!. I can only give it 4 stars because you'll need to tweak a little... Follow the directions in the recipe, but don't put the totellini in until time specified on the package. Mine said cook for 2 minutes. If you put in for the full 30 minutes as recipe states, you'll have over cooked pasta! I forgot to buy mushrooms so I had to leave them out, but I really want to try it again with them. This was my first time cooking with leeks and I really liked the flavor; I asked my produce guy and he suggested to only use the white part of them.. I also only used 1 Tablespoon of tobasco and it was just right for our liking! After about an hour the tortellini starts to soak up the liquid, so you may want to add an extra cup of broth. Hubby loved it and I did too! Will make again and again!..Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I'm giving this 4 stars only because I tweaked the recipe a little but it was an excellent base. Following another's post I used the spinach and feta sausage. I used the 3 cheese tortellini but it came with spinach pasta. I used chicken stock instead of chicken broth for a richer base. I doubled the recipe because we have a big family and that made the recipe call over just over a 1/4 cup of hot sauce!!! That would have killed us!!! I used Tabasco and measured, added and tasted after each tablespoon and ended up with 2 1/2 tablespoons for the amount of liquid. I added chopped baby spinach just before I served this and it was an excellent addition. I served it with crusty bread and it was a fabulous meal. All of that being said, as others have shared, I was skeptical at first that this would have any flavor at all. But evidently, just the stock with the hot sauce and salt and pepper were enough. I assume that the stock also picked up the flavor of the sausage and other veggies as it cooked as well. Very good soup and hubby says I get a gold star for this one : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I must admit, this recipe didn't sound like it would wow me, but boy was I wrong! There's something about the combination of sausage and tortellini in chicken broth with fresh cilantro and hot sauce - WOW! The flavors all mesh beautifully and develop into the most tasty, delicious soup I've had in a LONG time. Definitely give this one a try - it's amazing how much flavor you get with minimal ingredients! Oh, also, I didn't have leeks on hand so I used a whole onion instead and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I rated it a 3 the first time we made it because to me it tasted like hot dog soup. The second time at it I used a spinach and feta chicken sausage instead of a muchroom chicken sausage, Tapatillo hot sauce instead of Chalula,a spinach and parmesan torellini instead of 3 cheese, double mushrooms and only 1 tbsp of hot sauce. Now my husband and I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BK
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
We LOVED this - the spicy chicken sausage gave it a really good flavor. Only 4 stars because 30 minutes of simmering would be far too much for the tortellini so I put it in just for 8-10 minutes, according to package directions. Worked like a charm. Also, I had some leftover beef broth to use up, so I used 2 c. beef broth and 4 c. chicken broth. Our company liked it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This really is a great recipe. I used italian sausage instead of chicken sausage as my store was out of it. I increased the mushrooms for a heartier soup and used twice as many tortellini (5 cheese!). It was to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This is an AWESOME soup!! I think I ate 1/2 of the pot the second it was ready. I used kielbasa instead of the chicken sausage because I think with the mushroom and leek it would be a better blend of flavors, but Im sure its great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESUBLIME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This was fantastic, even those in the household who don't like soup ate this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocktailqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Happen to have all the stuff at home that needed to be used...YUMMY! The only change was instead of sausage (not a fan, usually) I used chopped/diced chicken breast and cooked it with the leeks and mushrooms than added the broth..ect. Hope this helps, I was hesitate to try, but glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Go easy on the hot sauce! I gave this four stars only because 3 tablespoons of hot sauce may ruin this for some. I started with 1 tablespoon thinking I would add more as I went but one was enough! Excellent taste, my husband liked this one a lot. Also, as several people said, put the tortellini in only at the very end according to package directions or you'll end up with mush. Excellent warm weather treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States