Mushroom, Leek, Chicken Sausage and Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I thought this soup was too thick - I added about a half a cup of water and the broth was still "gooey". Also, too many leeks. I would scale it back to one large leek. I also think that you need to add the tortellini only about 10-15 minutes before serving or else it becomes mushy and falls apart. Interesting flavors, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlburns1222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This was just ok. Cooking the tortellini for 30 minutes was way too much cooking time. It was no longer al dente. I did scale back the garlic (hubby can't handle a lot of it) and put in what I thought was an adequate amount of hot sauce. I used sweet italian chicken sausage. I don't know -- it just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I'm giving this 4 stars only because I tweaked the recipe a little but it was an excellent base. Following another's post I used the spinach and feta sausage. I used the 3 cheese tortellini but it came with spinach pasta. I used chicken stock instead of chicken broth for a richer base. I doubled the recipe because we have a big family and that made the recipe call over just over a 1/4 cup of hot sauce!!! That would have killed us!!! I used Tabasco and measured, added and tasted after each tablespoon and ended up with 2 1/2 tablespoons for the amount of liquid. I added chopped baby spinach just before I served this and it was an excellent addition. I served it with crusty bread and it was a fabulous meal. All of that being said, as others have shared, I was skeptical at first that this would have any flavor at all. But evidently, just the stock with the hot sauce and salt and pepper were enough. I assume that the stock also picked up the flavor of the sausage and other veggies as it cooked as well. Very good soup and hubby says I get a gold star for this one : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
A very hearty winter night treat! As others have stated, a lot of flavor from minimal ingredients. Since I could not find a good sausage the day I was making, I used chopped breast and thigh meat cooked in the skillet after the leeks and mushrooms. I served this with a rosemary bread and green salad. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Another Black Swan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I was pleasantly surprised by how much flavor was in this dish with such simple ingredients. I doubled the mushrooms and used Boca (meatless) italian sausages. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This really is a great recipe. I used italian sausage instead of chicken sausage as my store was out of it. I increased the mushrooms for a heartier soup and used twice as many tortellini (5 cheese!). It was to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I have never made this soup the same twice. I always seem to be missing one ingredient, but it always comes out fantastic. One time I didn't have tortellini and used spiral pasta instead and another time I didn't have sausage and used chicken. Still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARELA10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurens, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coweta, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was a great recipe... like other reviewers, I was leery of how it would come out. And not to mention, I've never really made soup and my boyfriend isn't typically a fan of soup based meals... but we were both pleased with the results. Soup did taste a bit like hot dogs, but it went well with all the other ingredients. That little bit of spicy-ness was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
One the best soups I have ever eaten and I am not a soup person. I am pregnant and LOVED this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I rated it a 3 the first time we made it because to me it tasted like hot dog soup. The second time at it I used a spinach and feta chicken sausage instead of a muchroom chicken sausage, Tapatillo hot sauce instead of Chalula,a spinach and parmesan torellini instead of 3 cheese, double mushrooms and only 1 tbsp of hot sauce. Now my husband and I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States