Mushroom, Leek, Chicken Sausage and Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I thought this was really great. I used turkey italian sausage because I couldn't find chicken sausage at the store. My family really enjoyed it. Also was really simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Not sure on this one..we liked it, but thinking I could of changed something I did with it. I took other reviewers ideas about not cooking the tortelli so long, which i did. But wasnt that kean on the tortelli..maybe a meat filled tortelli, would of been better and leave out the sausage? I noticed someone else used spinach instead of leeks, this would make it taste even more like italian wedding soup? Has anyone else tried this? will make it again..but will try to change it a bit.. :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Tasty and easy, what's not to like?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
We liked this soup except for one thing...way too spicy! I only added 1 tablespoon of tabasco and thought we better test it before adding more. 3 tablespoons and your lips would have been on fire! Be careful with adding the tabasco!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Happen to have all the stuff at home that needed to be used...YUMMY! The only change was instead of sausage (not a fan, usually) I used chopped/diced chicken breast and cooked it with the leeks and mushrooms than added the broth..ect. Hope this helps, I was hesitate to try, but glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I loved this!. I can only give it 4 stars because you'll need to tweak a little... Follow the directions in the recipe, but don't put the totellini in until time specified on the package. Mine said cook for 2 minutes. If you put in for the full 30 minutes as recipe states, you'll have over cooked pasta! I forgot to buy mushrooms so I had to leave them out, but I really want to try it again with them. This was my first time cooking with leeks and I really liked the flavor; I asked my produce guy and he suggested to only use the white part of them.. I also only used 1 Tablespoon of tobasco and it was just right for our liking! After about an hour the tortellini starts to soak up the liquid, so you may want to add an extra cup of broth. Hubby loved it and I did too! Will make again and again!..Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I thought this soup was too thick - I added about a half a cup of water and the broth was still "gooey". Also, too many leeks. I would scale it back to one large leek. I also think that you need to add the tortellini only about 10-15 minutes before serving or else it becomes mushy and falls apart. Interesting flavors, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlburns1222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This was just ok. Cooking the tortellini for 30 minutes was way too much cooking time. It was no longer al dente. I did scale back the garlic (hubby can't handle a lot of it) and put in what I thought was an adequate amount of hot sauce. I used sweet italian chicken sausage. I don't know -- it just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I'm giving this 4 stars only because I tweaked the recipe a little but it was an excellent base. Following another's post I used the spinach and feta sausage. I used the 3 cheese tortellini but it came with spinach pasta. I used chicken stock instead of chicken broth for a richer base. I doubled the recipe because we have a big family and that made the recipe call over just over a 1/4 cup of hot sauce!!! That would have killed us!!! I used Tabasco and measured, added and tasted after each tablespoon and ended up with 2 1/2 tablespoons for the amount of liquid. I added chopped baby spinach just before I served this and it was an excellent addition. I served it with crusty bread and it was a fabulous meal. All of that being said, as others have shared, I was skeptical at first that this would have any flavor at all. But evidently, just the stock with the hot sauce and salt and pepper were enough. I assume that the stock also picked up the flavor of the sausage and other veggies as it cooked as well. Very good soup and hubby says I get a gold star for this one : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
A very hearty winter night treat! As others have stated, a lot of flavor from minimal ingredients. Since I could not find a good sausage the day I was making, I used chopped breast and thigh meat cooked in the skillet after the leeks and mushrooms. I served this with a rosemary bread and green salad. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Another Black Swan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States