Mushroom in the Middle Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Not a fan. Neither was my husband. It was undercooked by about an hour with the cook time and pretty much a pile of mushroom mush and grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allyash84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I made this meatloaf using reduced sodium mushroom soup, ground turkey (also tried with beef, but I like turkey), and a ground sausage that was labeled "Sweet Italian," though now I don't know the brand. Anyway, it was delicious! My only problem was that I added too much diced peppers and onions, so instead of roll it out I followed the advice of another reviewer and instead put half the meat mixture, then half the soup, then the other half of the meat. I did pour the rest on top halfway through. Because I made it that way instead, it wasn't sealed and the soup primarily ran out of the center - but it tasted so great, I didn't care. Also, I didn't feel the sausage ever overpowered the rest of the flavors. I have made this several times in this way because it's faster than rolling it, and it's also really good with sliced fresh mushrooms in the middle and on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Florida, USA
Living In: Superior, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Delicious! The soup makes it very moist throughout. I would agree with some other users however in that next time I may use a low sodium variety. I also used ground turkey instead of pork just because that is what was in the freezer. Next time would also like to try putting hunks of mushroom in the middle as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Not my favorite. The meatloaf was too dense. I cooked for extra time after reading reviews and it still wasn't enough. I also didn't like the skin that formed on top from the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
A change of pace from the normal meatloaf. I did have the problem of it not cooking all the way, so I cooked it 20 minutes longer. The texture was really different. I think I'd only do ground beef the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Farmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Very good, Fiance does not like mushrooms but loved this recipe, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Great on taste but appearance is not appealing if you add the remainder of mushroom soup halfway through the cooking process. The soup congels and looks like paste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaimay7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albion, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NMChef1
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
I thought this was just okay - and I do love meatloaf in general. I think the preparation directions were a little hard to do successfully. The 8x8-inch square was easy to roll up, but the soup kept squishing out. I had to settle for getting it slightly sealed, and I placed it seam-side down in the loaf pan. Maybe I need to be more experienced - as a rookie cook, I'd never quite done this before. Like the previous reviewer, I used 93/7 ground beef to get less fat in the meatloaf. Cooked exactly as described, the outside was fairly well-done, but the inside was pretty uncooked. I notice that a number of other reviewers had the same problem. Perhaps I need to make adjustments for high-elevation cooking (I now live at over 6000 ft.). In my case, I just left the loaf in the cooling oven for quite a while, which helped finish the middle a bit. It was a little nice to have the beef/pork combination, with a few crunchy bell pepper and onion chunks in it. But I thought the soup on top seemed kind of "unfinished", for lack of a better word, plus it made the dish pretty salty. If I were to make this again, I'd definitely cook it a lot longer and I'd look for a low- or even no-salt soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I didn't use any sausage and used 7% fat ground beef to cut down on fat and calories. Tasted delicious! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime Berry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Delicious! My boyfriend and I LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Coalgate, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States