Mushroom in the Middle Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I tried this wonderful sounding recipe. I added extra mushrooms and some sausage to the mixture. We found it to be surprisingly a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I just didn't care for this, think it was the sausage that I didn't care for in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fuzzymildew
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This was a big hit. I added a bit to the meat, such as a stick of celery, some ketchup, steak sauce, & cheese (in the middle & on top). It was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuzzymildew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This was an AWESOME recipe. Blew my mother's meatloaf out of the water!! I did, however, just mix the mushroom soup into the meat mixture and made meatloaf muffins in a muffin tins. BIG HIT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Really good recipe, I have passed it on to many friends and they all love it. I followed the advice of other reviewers and put half of the soup right into my meat mixture, and add a half package of dry oinion soup mix. Mixing the soup right into the meat is just faster and less mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Very good meatloaf. My whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This came out really good! I substituted the seasoned bread crumbs with panko and 2 tsp italian seasoning, omitted the salt, used italian turkey sausage and added a Lipton's onion soup mix as another reviewer suggested. I also didn't have any green pepper but added chopped green beans instead which added a nice crunch. Came out really tasty and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I don't usually like meatloaf but was requested to make it. I found this and read thru the reviews and modified as follows: I used beef because that’s what I had. I also added fresh mushrooms inside and out. I used minced garlic and mixed the seasoned bread crumbs with spicy fish batter. I spread the meat out on plastic wrap leaving the edges a little higher and spread the soup on and then the fresh mushrooms. I lifted the plastic wrap as I rolled the meat up and sealed the ends as I went to keep the soup in. I had no mess! I put it in the pan with the seam down. I cooked it in a glass covered oval because it didn’t fit in my loaf pan. When I got it out to put the soup on and more fresh mushrooms I used a syringe to suck out the grease that had drained to the bottom. I making it today with cream of celery instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleport, New York, USA
Living In: South Gibson, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Try this neat trick that I accidently realized while trying to figure how I was going to roll the meat over the soup mix. I had the meat shaped into the loaf and I cut a "wedge" of meat off the top and made a "well" in the meat and poured the soup into it and with the meat I cut off I shaped it to cover the wedge I had made and placed over the soup mix and it was easy to lift and handle as if it had nothing to spill. It worked like a charm and the meatloaf was excellent. I also added a packet of onion soup mix to the meat because I read that it was a tad bland. This is the best meatloaf I had ever tasted and it's the first meatloaf I didn't have to make a gravy for. This will be my new recipe for meatloaf and will definitely make many more times. Thanks for posting this great recipe. R.G.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
THis is the best meatloaf I have ever tasted and it will become part of our regular dinner entrees in the future. My boyfriend loved it and is actually excited about eating leftovers today! (For once) I did have to bake for about 15 minutes longer to cook through the middle, but ovens vary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States