Mushroom Gizzards Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Excellent recipe and a great way to make gizzards a bit more falvourful. The only thing I did differently was to add a bit of minced garlic to the mixture. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I made this dish and made quite a few changes. I used both cream of chk. and mushroom garlic. I seasoned the gizzards before coating them w/ flour. For that I used Cajun seasoning. I also added chk. livers to the recipe. Additional seasonings I used in the recipe are garlic & onion powder, red pepper and parsley. I also sauteed some diced celery, onions, and bell pepper in bacon fat before adding the soup. I thinned mine with both milk and water and used more than the recipe called for. The last thing I did that was different was take the browned bits of flour after pan frying the gizzards and livers and making a gravy which I added to the soup mixture. I let it simmer for a very long time then served over rice. At some point it actually reminded me a bit of giblet gravy although I never added sage...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This turned out really, really well! I have made these twice now and the first time I had to add a little bit more water part way through cooking, but the second time (I doubled the batch) it didn't need the extra water. My brother, who is very critical of everything, loved these and even took home leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAH MACDONALD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
My husbands Polish Grandma used to make this for him all the time.....so I decided to give it a stab....and he loved it!! I did add some fresh chopped mushrooms to the concoction, as well as some additional spice to the flour. I also served atop rotini noodles....Thanks Barbara, for pleasing my DH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
Almost made as is. Added some chicken hearts. Still have not found a good gizzard recipe. I will kepp trying. My advice is to skip this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
i love this. doesnt look pretty but hey it taste darn good! kick up a notch by adding chili powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
I made this and my other half thought it was fantastic. The only suggestion I might make is that if you cook this in the microwave too long the mushroom soup gets quite dry. You may need to add a little water. Other than that - great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
This was a really great recipe. Easy to follow directions and very good to eat. Glad to find another way to cook gizzards than just boiling them. My children and I loved them, so did my Mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States