Mushroom Chicken Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Excellent recipe. Very tasty. Just a few minor changes. I dipped the chicken in a mixture of 3 Tbsp butter and 1 egg before coating in Vigo Italian Style Bread Crumbs (instead of only using butter and coating in flour). Also, I added a little garlic, salt and pepper to the cream on top as other reviewers suggested. In addition, I used shredded provolone & mozzarella cheese since I didn't have parmesan cheese. I will cook this again and again. Very quick & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
My family loved this recipe I did spice it up with s&p and a little garlic and onoin powder. Using half and half and baking extra time because we love the chicken to just fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
5-stars from all 4 of us! I added garlic salt to the flour and used 2% milk instead, and it was great. Easy and yummy--thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zimmerle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
My husband wasn't too keen of this recipe when I first tried it, so I spiced the flour up a bit the second time round. I added some chili powder, ground pepper, pinch of salt and sugar, and 1 tsp of parsley flakes along with half a teaspoon of dried fine herbs. Instead of using just plain butter, I spit it in half with garlic butter. I served it with cooked spaghetti and steamed asparagus spears The difference was remarkable. I got rave reviews! Thanks for giving us the foundation for a good recipe that we can play around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sutton, Quebec, Canada
Photo by kelcath33
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Well, let me see here. After having read the reviews of others I kinda combined them and added a few changes of my own. I had a packet of Shake -n- Bake just laying around about to expire so I said, 'why not' and used that mostly in place of flour. I still added a few tablespoons of flour though. Also added some oregano, italian seasonings, garlic powder, and black pepper to the mix and combined them in a bowl. Since I love my foods rich and creamy I decided this needed a sauce. I grabbed a jar of tomato basil pasta sauce, added a large spoonful or two of sour cream and then mixed in the heavy cream with the sauce. I poured it over the chicken and baked it for 20 minutes. Took it out and addedthe mushrooms and topped with a parmesan and mozzerella cheese combination and baked another 15 min. Absolutely delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Wow!! This was delicious. I added/changed a few different things. Instead of using cream I used a can of mushroom soup and added it to baby bella mushrooms and green peppers that I cut up and sauteed. I mixed the sautee and stirred in the mushroom soup. I added the mixture twenty minutes into the cooking process. I also took the other suggestions of seasoning the butter and the flour. In the flour I also added a few leaves of fresh basil. My boyfriend and I love it!! It is always fun to add your own flare to a great recipe. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This recipe has some issues. First, the flour needs to be seasoned otherwise the chicken is flavorless. Use caution with the amount of salt used - using a salty cheese on top will increase the saltiness of the dish. Second, Parmesan cheese doesn't accent the mushrooms very well - Swiss may be a better option. Finally, the curdling that some people have complained about isn't curdling. It is the flour and cream mixing to form a lumpy "gravy" if you will. In order to prevent the lumpiness, either breadcrumbs should be used as others mentioned or the chicken should be pan fried before the cream and mushrooms are added. I will not be making again, nor would I recommend it. While the flavor is okay, it will take too much effort to tweak the recipe to make it really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Tasty and easy. I used fat-free half and half it was plenty thick and my picky hubby couldn't tell the difference. I also used canned mushrooms, as I forgot to buy fresh - they were fine as well. I tried to spice it up, but didn't use enough garlic powder and such. I should warn you that this is a truly WHITE dinner. I served it with steamed veggies and put it over rice. It would be good with noodles as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbandale, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I made this with alfredo sauce from this site along with fettuccine. Together I give it fours stars, but each recipe on their own would probably get two stars from me. As recommended I put garlic, pepper and onion powder in the flour mix. I also sauteed the mushrooms a little with butter and fresh garlic. The chicken itself was bland, I think it needs to be marinated, but I'm not sure in what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
There's nothing special about his recipe. It's one of those things I might make again if I need to throw something together last minute and happen to have all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Tomato Chicken Parmesan

See how to make a super-simple baked chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States