Mushroom Chicken in Sour Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I noticed some of the reviewers thought this was bland, so, I thought I would adjust the seasonings to be more flavorful. I used 4 chicken breasts instead of 6. I doubled all components of the rub except for the salt. I kept it at the same measurement. I heavily sprinkled the chicken breasts with the rub. I also sauteed the mushrooms in a little butter until they were golden brown before adding to the crock pot. This adds additional flavor. I did not add the sour cream at first because I did not want it to curdle or clump. I mixed the soup, chardonnay, mushrooms and covered the chicken. I cooked for 3 hours in the sauce. I then removed the chicken breasts and whisked the sour cream into the sauce until fully incorporated. I then added the chicken breasts back into the sauce and cooked for an additional hour. Boneless chicken breasts definitely do not need 8 hours to cook or they will be dry. The sauce was thick and very flavorful. The chicken was moist and delicious. I served with Jasmine rice and broccoli. Very simple to make and tasty! I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was delish! I fixed it as the states, but I cooked a cup of rice then about 5 minutes before serving, mixed it into the pot. It thickened up real well. a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Very good! Very convenient; excellent with noodles or baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This recipe was great. I got the small can of Campbell's cream of mushroom w/reduced sodium. Didn't use sour cream and used chicken thighs. I doubled up all the spices except salt like the other reviewer recommended. I pan fried the chicken on both sides in garlic (30 seconds each side) along with half of the dry rub and then put it in slow cooker for 2 hours. Found the sauce too thin so added 2 tablespoons of all purpose flour to thicken it. My slow cooker goes to warm mode after the timer goes off so not sure if that's what made the sauce thin. I served it with pasta and it was great. I have enough sauce remaining for another dinner so I've frozen it till the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This recipe is so delicious. Tweaked it a bit, adding the sour cream in the last hour which was suggested by another. As well as shredding the chicken and putting it back into the sauce for the last hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This has always been a favorite of mine! The recipe calls for the wine, sour cream, mushroom soup and mushrooms to be added together and poured on chicken to cook. I, personally, wait till the last half hour to add the sour cream. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I thought this dish was great and so did my family. The chicken was so juicy and not dry at all, I used 5 boneless skinless breasts and cooked on low for 10 hours (the whole time we were at work). The only changes I made was adding extra spices, not adding the sour cream until I got home which was right before we ate and partially shreaded the chicken. I served with wild rice and artichokes...it was a Great dinner that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
EXCELLENT say no more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was very tasty. I read some of the reviews beforehand and I too waited until the last hour before adding the sour cream. The wine was also a nice touch. My friend went back for seconds. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
YUM! Absolutely delicious. My husband emphasized I needed to keep track of this recipe for future use. :) And said it would be great for when we have company. The only thing I did differently was I didn't make it in the slow-cooker. I browned the chicken in a saucepan with some olive oil, butter (just a bit of each) and garlic, as well as the spices mentioned. Then I removed the chicken to a glass pan and put it in the oven at 350. Then I sauteed the mushrooms in the same pan (more garlic and a bit more butter), then added the liquids. I let this simmer on low for about 15-20 minutes while the chicken cooked in the oven. Then, I transferred the sauce onto the chicken and let it cook another 25 minutes or so in the oven. I served it on a bed of rice, with a side of roasted asparagus. YUM YUM YUM! The wine's definitely the key ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States