Mushroom Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I hate mushrooms. Just straight up portobello mushroom burgers are not edible to me, but this was good. I cant really rate the recipe because I didnt cook it as writen. We didnt have normal mushrooms so I had to use one portobello and hope that it was about a pound (and it was far from it) so I added peas as more veggies and used oatmeal to stick it together because adding more bread didnt work- the members of my household refuse to let me make it the way it was written now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Pretty darn good. I made a few changes: soy sauce rather than oyster sauce and bread crumbs rather than bread slices. They were very wet, but I found they held together alright if you made them small enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
So delicious! Definitely chop the mushrooms and use 2 eggs. I used green onions because it's what I had on hand, garlic, and Worcestshire sauce instead of oyster sauce. I also used bread crumbs and wheat germ and eye-balled the amount I needed before and after I added the eggs. Handforming the patties worked really well because if they fell apart I just added more breadcrumbs/wheat germ. Like other reviewers I fried the patties in 2-3 TBS of oil and they kept their form. This is going in my rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I was pleasantly surprised with this! I read other reviews first and IF you do make these changes: -Chop the mushrooms -Use 2 eggs -Fry in 2-3 tbsps of oil They will act (and even look) like hamburger meat. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This was soooo good!! The only change I made was I used egg whites and that works too. Very good, will definetly make much more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I used oatmeal instead of bread, which gave this meal a more meaty feel. Also, instead of oyster sauce, I substituted with hot sauce, which really gave it a nice flavor! Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe. I did chop the mushrooms and it seemed to help keep them in "patties",but I also found that they were a little too wet so I added more bread crumbs than it called for. Also didn't have oyster sauce, so used veggie broth instead which gave it great flavor! They are very tasty when served with lettuce tomato onion and cheese and stuck under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Marietta, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Adding one more egg to the mixture and frying in oil rather than cooking spray helps firm it up (much like eggs foo yung). Using toasted whole grain bread crumbs gives it a little more hearty flavor. I added a little garlic and chili powder just because I like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
Very good! I used steak sauce instead of oyster sauce like someone suggested. It did fall apart so next time I'm going to try chopping up the mushrooms. The larger slices seemed to be what made it fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Yum! These were delicious. I definitely recommend this very flavorful and healthy recipe. Very quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States