Mushroom Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I gave this recipe a four star rating because it is delicious but I had to do some extra prep, likely because of how it was prepared by me. I chopped my mushrooms and onion in my food processor. The onion came out too finely chopped and somewhat watery- my fault of course- but it affected the cooking. I used worcesteshire and soy sauce to flavor mine and they were delicious. I also used half rolled oats and half bread crumbs, and I added some garlic as well. The mixture was very soft and wet, so I scooped "patties" onto a baking sheet and baked them at 400 for about 12 minutes to set them, then I froze them to eat for lunches throughout the week. They came out very good and even though they were still soft it didn't really matter much to me. I put them on one of those 100 calorie rolls with some veggie cheese and lettuce and they were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karabear1982

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I have thrown away all my other veggie burger recipes (with beans, lentils, garbanzos etc.) and will only make this recipe. I added 1 cup of oatmeal and sprinkled on some ground flaxseed which really binded it together well. Tastes like a real hamburger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
These were ok I guess. It basically just tastes like mushroom as the recipe is written, and I suspect the better reviews just added a lot of other stuff to make it more tasty. I followed the recipe exactly except I used hot sauce instead of oyster sauce, and I also substituted oats for bread and added an extra egg in an attempt to hold it together, which didn't work. I think it needs some more spices. Thanks anyway but I won't be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
These fell apart. I ended up turning it into an omelette and had breakfast for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaqueesha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I let the mixture cool in the fridge for an hour after I added the egg to increase cohesiveness. This worked and the burgers stuck together much better than if I'd tried to form them right away. However, the still needed to be handled with care. I fried them over low heat on the largest burner. We don't eat oysters, so I used 1 TB each of Worshire sauce and soy sauce. I also used oatmeal instead of bread crumbs (instant). The burgers came out very meaty and flavorful. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
The flavor of this is something I really enjoyed, however it didn't stay together. I'll have to play with it some more since it's a rather decent base product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagler Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Great! I used olive oil instead of cooking spray, and used soy sauce and Worcestershire sauce in place of oyster sauce. Grilled on the BBQ, topped with grilled onions, tomato, lettuce and Trader Joe's Greek feta dressing. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Wonderful recipe! Even my meat loving hubby enjoyed this burger. Very nice change frrom a beef burger. Made the recipe with Cattleman's Spicy sauce instead of Oyster sauce, used 1/4 cup corn flake crumbs and omitted the salt and pepper. Added two cloves of chopped garlic to the frypan with the mushroom and onion. I let the mixture cool and then shaped in to patties and wrapped with wax paper. I refridgerated them until later in the day and heated them in a skillet on medium heat for 5 minutes a side. I topped them with cheddar slices and placed the pan under the broiler for a couple minutes to melt the cheese. Delicious! Thanks will definitly make this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aflanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This was an excellent recipe. One of my family members accidently grabbed one of my burgers, and the only difference he could tell was that it was a little bit sweeter then normal. The only thing I didnt like was how they kept crumbling, so I put the mushrooms in my chopper until it was almost like a paste and then I added an extra teaspoon of barbecue sauce. It turned out great thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I absolutely loved this recipe and have made it 4 times since discovering it 3 weeks ago! I've tried mushroom burgers before, but they've never tasted like this! My version is slightly different. I use 2 giant portabella mushroom caps (chopped), 1/2 white onion, 1/2 cup Panko japanese style bread crumbs, 2 tbsp A1 steak sauce and 1 egg and shape into 4 patties. I serve on reduced calorie wheat toast (35 calories per slice). My modified version comes to only 71 calories per patty (or 141 total with the toast) and they're SO delicious! They're terrific served with a light soup or sweet potato fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States