Mushroom Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I fixed this tonight. It is very tasty! However, mine was far too moist and would not "pattie" at all. (I did chop the mushrooms as suggested in the reviews) Used it kind of like sloppy joes, and it worked out okay. Think next time I will use a different filler, or as someone else said, a good mixture for pitas, or even for tortillas. Used lettuce, thin slice of onion and tomato. Very good - my husband had seconds and really liked it. Will try it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
HOLY COW! I may never eat beef burgers again. I substituted the oyster sauce with hot sauce and added garlic... So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I tried some of the recommendations on the reviews, like using olive oil and oatmeal but my mushroom patty still didn't stick together. They were right about the texture and taste though, almost like real meat! I used habanero plus oyster sauce and I loved the taste! It's a great low calorie meal, just easy on the toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie C

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paranaque, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Great recipe. for those having problems with it sticking together, the mushrooms must be chopped and I changed the bread to half breadcrumbs and half wheat gluten. I love it chunked up like hamburger and put in a wrap with sauteed onions and peppers plus some vegan cheese for a Philly Cheesesteak wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This was a good basic recipe but I had a problem with them holding their shape. So I made a few changes. I did not cook the mushrooms and onions before mixing. This reduced the amount of liquid but still retained the delicious taste. Also I substituted dried bread cubes ground (bread crumbs) for the white bread. I basically mixed everything together and baked in the oven 10 minutes per side. Wonderful. And so much less expensive than boca burgers. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Excellent! These were so easy to throw together I make the Patties and freeze before cooking I will make these often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I skipped the onion and used soy sauce instead of oyster sauce. They were good. Mine crumbled in the pan, but I put them in a pita was happy with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I have trouble keeping them together, but when they fall apart I just add some homemade spaghetti sauce and have some really healthy spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I gave this recipe a four star rating because it is delicious but I had to do some extra prep, likely because of how it was prepared by me. I chopped my mushrooms and onion in my food processor. The onion came out too finely chopped and somewhat watery- my fault of course- but it affected the cooking. I used worcesteshire and soy sauce to flavor mine and they were delicious. I also used half rolled oats and half bread crumbs, and I added some garlic as well. The mixture was very soft and wet, so I scooped "patties" onto a baking sheet and baked them at 400 for about 12 minutes to set them, then I froze them to eat for lunches throughout the week. They came out very good and even though they were still soft it didn't really matter much to me. I put them on one of those 100 calorie rolls with some veggie cheese and lettuce and they were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karabear1982

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I have thrown away all my other veggie burger recipes (with beans, lentils, garbanzos etc.) and will only make this recipe. I added 1 cup of oatmeal and sprinkled on some ground flaxseed which really binded it together well. Tastes like a real hamburger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States