Mushroom Bolognese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jewels
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This combo has a perfect savory taste for mushroom-fans. The recipe itself could use some edits, but the combo is worth the trials. The newb chef that I am, I made this recipe thinking it was the whole dish. Luckily pasta takes under 8 minutes to boil and I had some on-hand. Would definitely add a step to this recipe for throwing pasta on the stove in the last 10 minutes. I added chicken, thinking this was a light veggie dish, but on top of pasta, this sauce is very filling. Enoki mushrooms were not available at the market so I ended up getting shiitake for additional flavor. Turned out fine but also had the same issue of not really being a 'sauce'. I did not need more than 25 minutes to reduce the broth but even added an extra 1/4 cup broth. The cream and touch of nutmeg really round out the flavor to this Bolognese. I will definitely be using this base for future recipes and may play around with more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Delicious! I was looking for a meatless sauce that tasted something like a classic Bolognese, and this definitely did it for me. I didn't have enoki mushrooms so I increased the amount of portobellos. I also had to substitute ketchup for tomato paste and fat free half and half for heavy cream. I don't think it made a difference in the taste. I don't think this makes enough for 6 servings. Three seems more likely. All in all this is a delicious and easy meatless sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Loved it! I ended up making a vegan (paleo?) version- I used coconut milk instead of cream, and we ate this on top of spaghetti squash. It was SO good. I used a mix of portobella and little baby-bella mushrooms chopped into pieces- I couldn't find enoki at the store. At others' recommendation, I added some garlic and doubled the recipe (over just one spaghetti squash) and served it with a salad and some bread on the side. It made about 4 portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SammyG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Outstanding dish! So simple and quick as well. As others noted I increased the veggies and the sauce. I also added some thin cut steak meat to the sauce as my hubby likes his meat. Anyways, it was great and there was enough leftover for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Absolutely divine! But, there's no chance this recipe yields 6 servings. This recipe, as written is enough to serve three adults, or two with generous portions. Thank you jodyratti!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I guess I didn't get it... I made this per the recipe except for the enoki mushrooms. At the end I added a lot more cream than the 3 1/2 T called for in the recipe. Don't get me wrong, I really loved the dish, but I didn't get the tiny quantities. If my math is correct, this recipe has just less than 3 T liquid ingredients per serving which doesn't even begin to cover a serving of pasta (IMHO). I don't know if that's a mistake or that's the intention and I don't get it. But, the bottom line is that this is absolutely delicious and I will make it again, but with maybe four times the liquid and two or three times the vegetables!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This recipe was delicious. I did not simmer for the entire 35 minutes and it was a mistake - it was a bit runny. I will definitely make this again and simmer for longer. Also, I agree w/the comment above - I made this for two and we finished the entire thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
A little bit of mushroom heaven....Seriously, if you try to feed 6 with this it will be "little". They will then slap you for teasing them with a tiny bit of heaven. I served the whole amt to 2 for a hearty serving. I stuck to the veggie amts but also added about 6 button mushrooms. Didn't measure so much as eyeballed. Only thing I really changed was the beef broth and used maybe 4 t tomato paste. I used reduced sodium broth and ended up with about a cup and a half reduced down to almost nothing before adding cream. Added enoki with the broth and didn't brown, chopped before cooking. Served over shirataki noodles instead of pasta, added them before cream to soak and flavor. Topped with Reggiano, garlic cheese bread on the side. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

How to Make Mushroom Gravy

See how to make quick and easy mushroom gravy.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States