Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I used Pacific Foods Mushroom Broth for a vegetarian version, vegetable broth works, too. Add "meaty" flavor with 1 tsp worcestershire sauce. I used small can of tomato sauce instead of past - worked fine. This is a thick and delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Like others, I made the following changes: 1) added 2 bay leaves and 3 cloves garlic, 2) cooked veggies and barley in the same pot at the same time 3) increased beef broth to 8 C and added 2 C water 4) doubled celery and carrots. The result was a warm filling soup that was rather bland. It needs something else - maybe a can of tomatoes, or some spices, or some sherry. I am going to play around with the leftovers and see what I can come up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
The flavors were solidly good, but nothing that would blow your mind...but the dish was incredibly easy for the above average results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
We enjoyed this recipe, but like other reviewers I changed a few things. I doubled (at least) the carrots and celery. Then I added 3 cloves of minced garlic, 1 bay leaf, and a pinch of poultry seasoning. I did not precook the barley, but cooked it in the same pot and ended up using about 8 cups of chicken stock during the hour I simmered it. I will definitely make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Nice, nice recipe. Using a previous reviewer's suggestion I didn't precook the barley but cooked it in the broth instead. I doubled the carrot, used 1# sliced criminis, used 6 cups of broth (half beef/half chicken), then added my 1 cup of barley. I let the whole thing simmer for 45-50 minutes, adding 1 cup more of water along the way- but it could have used a bit more since the barley soaked up a lot. The final broth flavor could have used more of a boost, so next time I'll add a couple teaspoons of the old standby - poultry seasoning. Finally, I placed some thinly sliced baby spinach in the bottom of the bowl before ladling in the soup. Gave it another layer of veggies. Very nice overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
It was OK. I expected a bit more. I made some modifications such as more spices (garlic, red pepper flakes, fresh parsley) as per others' suggestions. But it just didn't have the "heartiness" that I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Sometimes simple is best, and this recipe is proof of that. I halved the recipe, following the ingredient measurements by the T, and it came out absolutely delicious. I like the fact that it has beef flavour without actual beef, and that it is so quick to make. Really comforting and satisfying. I can have this as a meal, and I'm full... without the extra 10 lbs that normal comfort food would bring. Why haven't I discovered this recipe before?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This soup was pretty darn good. I made it how one of the reviewers suggested; simmering the barley in more broth, and adding more later when all the veggies were in. I added some zuchinni and, though it was squishy and overcooked, it was still delightful. I'll be making this again, but I think I'll use chicken stock instead of beef-- it was a bit too beefy for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I liked how easy it was. It was bland so had to add some seasoning to hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Very good. I couldn't get the little ones to try it but my husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States