Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
As it was noted earlier this is a great recipe for a base (I give 4 for the base, because basic instruction is so necessary to go off of for further cooking experiments!) After I sauteed the mushrooms, I added about a 1/4C of red wine and let it reduce, then added the beef broth. I then added some dried parsley and some sprigs of fresh thyme. The thyme really brings it together. I would add more broth in the future (the barley seems to keep on keepin' on soaking up liquid). If you don't like a starchy soup, don't cook the barley in the same pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Great recipe! I made it with no-chicken Better than Boullion broth for a vegan recipe and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This soup is pretty good although it is not my favorite. My family liked it. Anxious to see how it is leftover. I think if make this again I will probably add some more herbs and spices to give a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Very good soup. Cooked barley separate (i always make extra barley for other meals) and used about 3 cups of cooked barley for recipe. I used 7 cups of water and 7 beef bouillon cubes. Also added some fresh thyme 3 garlic cloves. For my own bowl of soup, i added some chipolte tabasco and cracked pepper. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Croton Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
i followed the instructions that allotted for me to cook the barley in the same pot as the other things, but for whatever reason mine turned out a little bland. i used veggie broth to make it vegetarian, so my choice of broth may have had some impact. i think next time i will add corn and maybe experiment with some more seasonings...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Omitted the onions since I didn't have any. Cut recipe in half and it was perfect for me to have for lunches during the week. Healthy and plenty flavorful for rainy days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
So good but I use veg. broth instead. I recommend mixing up the mushrooms using shataiki, black mushrooms & baby bella's. Oyster mushrooms too. It gives a really good earthy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! First time making this soup. I made some substitutions for my diet, as no oil, and vegetable broth in lieu of Beef. Never enough mushrooms, tho. A little bland. Not sure what it was missing. But altogether a wonderful dinner! Add a salad, and fresh fruit for dessert. WONDERFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Really good, and easy to make. Only took 30 mins start to finish. Great last minute meal on a week night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was an excellent recipe. I put in three carrots and used home made chicken broth instead of beef. I made a double batch -- in one I added diced up honey smoked ham. It was actually better than the one without. Maybe better is wrong -- I just love ham. I did put in, at the recommendation of another reviewer, rosemary and garlic. Definitely have added the recipe to my make again file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States