Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I added Rosemary and thyme and garlic and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Tried it last night. Very good. We increased the broth to 7.5 cups and cooked the barley with the veggies. Will definitely try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I do a variation of this recipe I grate the carrots and I add shredded potatoes to the broth. I also use mushrooms from Poland that are dry and I boil them for about a half an hour and then add that as part of my stock. Remove some of the broth whisk in some sour cream and then re-add to the soup and I guarantee you will love this rendition of the mushroom barley soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I combined several reviewers' mods. I added about a Tb of dried rosemary, 2 bay leaves, 1/2 cup of red wine, 5 cloves of garlic (will do 8 next time) and did the barley right in the soup instead of separately (used 6 cups of broth) I used a combo of baby bellas and shiitakes but next time I'll try baby bellas, porcini and chanterelles. I don't think the shiitakes added much. I hesitated between 3 or 4 stars because of the amount of mods I made. It's a great base and I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by savannahchik

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Holly, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
took many of previous suggestions sautéed carrots onion and celery with tarragon, thyme, 1 bayleaf, salt and pepper then deglazed pan with sherry then added to 6 cups beef broth with 1 cup barley then sautéed mushrooms in butter, salt pepper and garlic powder added to broth with dash of rosemary let simmer for 10-15 more minutes total broth cook time about 30 min very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Easy and delicious can adjust to your taste add what you want. My favorite soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Delicious, filling, and very low-calorie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Great.. use vegetable broth and don't pre cook the barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Easy and delicious! My whole family enjoyed this delicious soup made from simple ingredients. I added an extra carrot and next time I will chop the mushrooms up a bit more. I will definitely make this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvthedalilama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I turned it into a vegan soup by using veggie stock only and instead of precooking the barley, I toasted it with the veggies after they sauteed and then just added the stock. i put a couple of teaspoons of herbs de provence, as well with the sauteeing veggies. Added a 1/2 c of red wine for the simmer. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States