Mushroom and Swiss Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
Oh, Wow! This got absolutely RAVE reviews from my boyfriend, to whom every mean is usually the same: "good." I did make a couple adjustments, though: shook the chicken up in a ziploc bag with the oil (added a little more), vinegar (and used some balsamic as well), garlic, and some seasoning salt (Alpine Touch), then put in the greased dish with more vinegar, oil, and garlic sprinkled over. Dusted with cajun and black pepper and cooked, then added a bit of chicken broth and red pepper flakes with the mushrooms/green onions. A tip: to reduce shriveling and browning of mushrooms, put the green onions over top the mushrooms. This recipe is really versatile; it was fine in the oven an extra ten minutes (with the oven shut off) while i finished up the rest of the meal. Served with Asiago Sun-dried Tomato Pasta (see review) with farfelle pasta tossed with parsley, olive oil, parmasan, and red and black pepper. I'll DEFINATELY make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANCHGIRL_59714

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belgrade, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This is WONDERFUL! Very moist chicken. The only thing different I did was put the oil, vinegar,and garlic in a zip lock bag and shook it with chicken in it. Then I put it in my baking pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
We quite enjoyed this recipe. I read through the reviews and used some of the suggestions when I made it tonight for dinner. I used a plastic bag and put the oil, vinegar, garlic and some seasoning salt in, then tossed the chicken in and gave it all a good smooshing around, put it in a greased dish, topped it with some Creole seasoning (all I had) and then pepper, then tossed on some red pepper flakes for good measure. Chucked it in the oven as the recipe says, after 30 minutes I took it out and topped it with some baby bellas and the chopped green onions and cooked it 15 minutes more. When it came out, I topped it with the sliced swiss and let it sit whilst I whipped up some rice-a-roni angel hair pasta as a side, toasted up some BBQ bread (hubby HAS to have bread), and then it was ready to eat! We all agreed it was quite tasty, fairly simple, and made for a marvelous presentation. It DID look like something from a restaurant. Hubby even stated I should add it to my keeper file. That's high praise around here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutherfordton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This chicken was really easy to make, and tasted pretty good. I followed the advice of others and marinated the chicken with the other ingredients in a big ziplock bag. Then after I put the chicken in casserole dish, I cut a small hole in the bottom of the bag and poured out the marinade on top of the chicken. It was easy and mess-free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaysville, Utah, USA
Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This was a great make-ahead recipe! Combine chicken, garlic, oil, vinegar and seasoning in a zip top bag and freeze. Then just thaw and bake - The toppings require very little prep. My whole family loved this! The chicken was moist and flavorful. We had it with steamed green beans and refrigerated mashed potatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Sorry, but this dish was not all that tasty to my husband and I. I followed the recipe and it sure smelled and looked good, but the taste was simply mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twistedsisterl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This recipe was excellent. I'm a nanny for triplets who are 8 years old and one of my boys are EXTREMELY picky. He doesn't like just any kind of food, but with this one, they all really liked a lot. I tried some too and it was yummy. The only thing that I did differently was that I put the oil, vinegar and seasonings in a bag like some of the other reviews mentioned, then i added the chicken to the bag and I left it like that in the fridge for about 4 hours to marinate. It really was awesome. Will definately make again. Can't wait to make it for my husband, he'll love it. Thanks a million.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Like previous reviews suggested, I combined the oil, vinegar, garlic, about a teaspoon of balsamic vinegar, and a little of the cajun seasoning in a slider bag and shook the chicken up in there nice and good.. after that I placed in the baking dish and sprinkled with a lot of the cajun seasoning.. this recipe was extremely easy to make, turned out great.. very very moist! this ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rach8986

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This recipe was really very good. I was a little afraid to use the cajun seasoning so I think I didn't add enough. Next time I will try more. My husband liked this one and I will make it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimiko611
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I made this for the second time tonight. It was very good! I'll definitely be making this again. I marinated the chicken in a zip lock bag with the vinegar, oil, garlic, and Cajun seasoning overnight. It makes it so much tastier. I also pound the chicken. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because it was a tad overcooked. I'll cook it 10 minutes less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimiko611

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States