Mushroom and Spinach Ravioli with Chive Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I made these tonight and they turned out ugly. They were so ugly I quickly formulated a plan b just in case. I put dinner on the table and my boyfriend said ugh what is that? The kids looked at it like I got to eat this? Despite the looks they were absolutely delicious. So very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
These are amazing! I have never had raviolis this good, even in a restaurant, and my family loved them to! The most important thing to know about this recipe, however, is that it is time consuming. Even though I only made half a recipe, it took me, with a little help from my mom, a bit over 3 hours to make them. The filling actually was the quickest part - that only took about an hour - I followed the recipe exactly used fresh herbs from the garden and added in some Thai Basil which I think really completed the flavor. Making the dough itself was pretty quick, although I agree that kneading is absolutely necessary. However, when I rolled it out it I did not put enough flower on the cutting board, and the dough soaked up far more than I expected for being so dry, possibly because I had to roll it so thin. I had to peel each piece off with my nails and that's what took so long. By the time I got to the last pieces, they were dry and cracking. Unfortunately I didn't discover till the end though that a little bit of water on your fingers makes it go much quicker, and rubbing water on the tops will make the dough pliable again. To keep them from breaking I pressed the edges of both sides down with a fork - like you do with a pie. When it was time to cook them, I discovered that they really do take 4 min, even though they will float around 2.5 - I had to throw mine back in for 2 min. None broke. When it was all said and done though, it was well worth it - they were delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Made this exactly as stated in the recipe and it was delicious. It was labor intensive - I definitely see a pasta roller in my future! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I didn't change anything and it was really good! A little kick with the cayenne that I'll cut back on next time. I had filling leftover but could have rolled the dough thinner (or dig out my pasta roller attachment for the KA!). We'll have this again, I'd like to try it with an Alfredo sauce next. Stay tuned for an update soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
First time ravioli making for me. The filling is delicious, I didn't measure the mushrooms or the spinach, just eyeballed it. And substituted the cream cheese with feta. I also use half wholemeal and half white flour and added a little extra moisture to balance it out. Lovely soft ravioli was the result. I made my own red sauce to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
LOVE IT!!! I omitted the cayenne pepper since I didn't have any on hand and it was still great. I also used a mix a regular and portabella mushrooms. We served it with a regular marinara sauce, but I think an alfredo would be great as well. Tastes similar to Benvenuto's wild mushroom ravioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Best ravioli we've ever eaten! We used a pasta machine to roll out dough and a large ravioli cutter. We boiled 4 large ravioli at a time and then put them in a sauté pan with the brown butter sauce to keep warm while we cooked remaining ravioli. Grated fresh pecorino Romano and served the pan at the table. Delicious! We actually made the dough the day before and probably could have also made the filling then. Just bring it to room temperature before filling ravioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Great Recipe!!!!!! The Pasta dough is very easy to make and i am first timer to pasta dough, however if you are rolling it out by hand i would recommend a pasta roller, i am a little sore from it, but well worth the effort if you have the time. Also it is totally possible to roll it to 1/16in and thinner. you just need space, patience and flour. :-) The filling is amazing. I used fresh spinach that i cooked with the mushrooms and onions and ended up blending it all in my blender and if you don't have time to wait for the cream cheese to softened, then it really helps, or a food processor. My only issue was with cutting the dough with a cookie cutter, i did not like that and ended up eyeballing it with a pizza cutter. I think i might get a pastry bag when i do this again to fill it faster. Took me a little over three hours to make this and there was enough for 6 with a few leftover. Oh as i was pressed for time at the end i did dumped some spaghetti sauce over it and ran out the door and it was still really great. I didn't use any extra salt or pepper as i forgot that step and the filling was great without the added salt, but i would have preferred a little red pepper if i remembered. As someone else stated, this is a very forgiving recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Delicious! Followed recipe exactly until the chive butter sauce. I used marinara sauce instead. The flavor of the filling was excellent. Definately worth the time involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Pretty darn good! It taste kinda like the fillings you stuff in the mushrooms with. Even though I used a pasta machine & stamps, it is still time-consuming but I had fun with it. I like the simple sauce as well and my husband prefer his ravioli's slightly golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States