Mushroom and Onion Vegetarian Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Meh. Using mushrooms as a taco "meat" is a really good idea. It's a good idea, but the seasoning was way too salty. I might make this again, using my own salt-free taco seasoning. I made my own whole wheat tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I am always looking for a good and quick vegetarian recipe and was truely impressed by this mushroom recipe. My husband also enjoyed it! I plan to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I am a vegetarian, and even my meat eating husband loved these! Quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
The mushrooms are a great option for that meaty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Schembri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This recipe sounded a little odd to me at first but it turned out delicious! My husband is not a huge mushroom fan but he loved these and asked for them again a day later. I made the recipe exactly as written except we didn't have queso cheese so we just sprinkled some Kraft mexican blend cheese on top - it was delish! We will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Amazing! Wish I would have ate more. This is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Made these tonight and they were excellent! I used corn tortillas, lightly fried. For toppings I used homemade guacamole, some Greek yogurt, and a sweet salsa to balance the earthiness of the tacos (any fruity salsa like mango should do.) My wife and I both loved them and never felt like the mushrooms were just a substitute for meat. The mushroom and onion combination made this a complete dish and we did not miss the meat at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Skeptical before making but this turned out surprisingly tasty, simple, quick, and healthy to boot. Subbed Taco Seasoning I from this site rather than using commercially made brands. If feeding people with appetites of sparrows or who are dieting, the portion size will probably be fine. Otherwise, consider whether a ‘serving size’ of 2 tortillas with minimal filling will be enough unless serving side dishes. The AR photo is misleading as there is no way that is 1/8 of the tortilla filling in each shell (i.e., 1/8 of a medium onion and 3/8 of a mushroom cap). If making again, use at least 4 large mushroom caps (1 per person) and 1 large or 2 medium onions. Fantastic recipe when wanting lighter fare, especially during the hot summer months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States