Mushroom and Mascarpone Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by rosabela
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
The filling was very yummy but I followed the other reviewers' suggestion and made my own pasta.Mrs.Payne suggested the "Basic Pasta" recipe from this site and I made it as is, only to find out that it wasn't enough and should have DOUBLED the recipe.I used water to seal the ravioli together, pressed the edges together, and used a small pizza cutter to cut them apart.Then I made my own rosee tomato sauce (in a large frying pan heat 1 tbsp olive oil over medium heat; saute 2 chopped garlic cloves till slightly golden; remove pan from burner, wait a moment for the simmering to ease up and add 500 ml/2 cups of crushed tomato sauce and a couple tablespoons of water-be careful not to splash yourself; return pan to burner, turn the heat to low, cover and let simmer for another 15-20 minutes until thickened, stirring occasionally; remove from burner, add 1 tbsp chopped fresh basil, season with salt and pepper to taste, and gently stir in 3 tbsp of cream), and my husband said that it complimented the ravioli very well.When cooking the ravioli, bring a large pot of salted water to a SIMMER and cook 4-6 at a time till they float to the top.However, don't overcook them.Once they float to the top, let it cook a few more moments until the "doughy" look is gone.UPDATE: made with wonton wrappers and worked just as great. In order for them not to fall apart, BRING THE WATER TO A SIMMER, not to a boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
5 Stars - for the filling 0 Stars - for using wonton wrapper Twice we used the wonton wrappers becasue the filling was so delicious. But it left a little something to be desired. Then, we got wise and learned how to make homemade pasta. WOW! Totally amazing filling. We just drizzle it with good olive oil and shave a little fresh parmesan over the top and it's perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
The filling is absolutely unbelievably melt in your mouth amazing! Even for a mere "mushrooms are just ok and sometimes I pick em out of stuff" kinda eater like me. No, the wonton wrappers are not ideal but oh so easy it makes up for it! A few hints about wonton wrappers. They are NOT all created equal!! The kind from regular grocery stores are often thin and cheap thus harder to use and more chance of ripping. if you get a chance, get some from an actual asian market, however the "nasoya" brand from wal-mart are better then others. It makes a HUGE HUGE HUGE difference! For all of those who lost filling... 1) USE BETTER WONTON WRAPPERS! 2) you MUST make sure that every tiny part of the 'seam' is completley pinched shut! 3) do not over stuff or the filling will burst the seams. 4) squeeze all of the air out. That promotes ripping! A change I think I'll make permenant is to add some chopped spinach. Defrost, squeeze out all the liquid as possible, mix in when you add the cheese. To seal I just used beaten egg, no milk. Topped it off with "newman's own" vodka sauce. compliments it nicely! YUUMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Better than Olive Garden! I changed the mushrooms to portobello as I like their flavour better, plus I was looking to duplicate Olive Garden's portobello ravioli. I also used dried herbs; 1tsp dried rather than 1 tbps fresh. I'm certain the flavours would be stronger with the fresh herbs. I also used the basic pasta recipie as I'm not a fan of wonton wrapper ravioli. This recipe was creamy and flavourful. To duplicate the sauce I used a sundried tomato alfredo with 1 cup of smoked edam cheese melted in. Top with fresh disced tomatos and green onions and it's not just like Olive Garden, it's better! YUM! Thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I have never had such an experience with a dish. Since I was having 4 couples over for dinner, I decided to “test” the ravioli before I served it. Let me say that the filling was outstanding. I placed one ravioli in a pot per directions (Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil) and within 2-3 minutes it had disintegrated. I was stunned and thought I did something wrong so I tried another – same thing. Honestly, it was comical. I was now in the Ravioli Twilight zone. They were disappearing before my eyes. To save the night, I had to go to plan B – rigatoni with homemade sauce. Success!! Perhaps the ravioli should “not” be placed in boiling water? Puzzled about this one so if anyone wants to shed some light I would very much appreciate it because as I said, the filling was great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cajun Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
The filling was restaurant quality, and instead of making ravioli, I shaped each won-ton wrapper into tortellini and I didn't lose a single one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charleycancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Shelton, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This was one of the most delicious fillings I have ever had, and is going into my cookbook 4ever! The one thing I did not do (based on what others said) was use the won ton wrappers. Instead, I decided on making my own fresh pasta and using a rippled edge cookie cutter to make the ravioli shape. It took a while. If I were going to do it from scratch I would have to start a 3pm to have it ready for dinner but so worth it. This is a great recipe! I gave the ravioli to others to try. They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This recipe is amazing. To keep the ravs from coming apart while cooking use a pastry wheel to seal the edges and when you drop these in the boiling water immediatly lower the boil to a simmer. I make a roasted red pepper alfredo sauce to go with these and I use portabella mushrooms. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Just heavenly. The best ravioli I have ever had. I have made them both with wonton wrappers and homemade pasta, and I actually liked the wonton wrappers better. Maybe because I steam them rather than put them in a pot of boiling water so they do not get mushy or fall apart. I'll save the fresh pasta for my lasagnas. Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maxie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Great filling! I used thick wonton wrappers, available at asian market, and had no trouble with leaking ravioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States