Mushroom and Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I love the flavor the dry sherry adds. I've made this several times, it's always a hit! I use veggie broth instead of beef, 8 oz baby bellas, 2 stalks leeks, quinoa pasta, and I add minced garlic (can't go wrong with garlic at my house). The soup is delicious - so light and fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katy Jo Vasbinder
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
With some substitutions and additions, this is a 5 star recipe! After reading other reviews, I used herb-ox chicken bouillon instead of beef bouillon for the broth, and used white wine instead of sherry. Since I doubled my recipe, I also added additional mushrooms and leeks, to make it a bit more hardy. I used mixed mushrooms instead of just one kind. The last time I made it, I added ground pork cooked in olive oil after I added the chicken broth. I also did what other reviewers did and added spinach at the end. So healthy and yummy! This past time that I made it, with the pork, my hubby said it was the best soup he's ever had. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy Jo Vasbinder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I originally made this per the recipe but after tasting it and seeing how bland it was, I doubled the leeks and mushrooms, added a bit more Sherry, 2 tbsp garlic, some thyme, parsley, salt and topped it with a tiny bit of parm. It was tasty, but still very light. This is good for a light dinner or paired with a salad but I won't make it again for the main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Holy cow this was so good! I was worried that there wasn't any meat in it my hubby would complain. He loved it! Made it as written, but added sliced carrots and some broccoli because I have an abundance of both. It gave it a little color. We will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Ohh so good!! After a long day of work I come home to this quick soup and it's lovely and warm. When I made it the first time I sliced up the leeks and mushrooms, then bagged up the extra in ziplock to freeze and use it later. Tonight was my second time to make this soup and it's so good!!! I used one can of beef broth and then two tablespoons of beef bouillon granules, followed the rest as it read.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Amazing soup..have made it three times and it was hugely successful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
The flavor of the mushrooms and leeks really come through, however other than those flavors I thought is was a little bland. For what type of soup it was I'd still give it a 4, but I did add a couple of small things. I wish I would have had more but I only had 1/4 cup sherry, I think that made a difference. I also added about 1/2 tsp of garlic powder and a dash of salt. I also only used 3 cups of water, just to make it not so watered down, to give more flavor, this worked.*********Had to add this, even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
added a little spinach & celery, used quinoa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Great soup and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States