Mushroom and Bacon Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Instead of a cup of frozen green beans I used to cans of green beans. I omitted the lemon pepper and used kosher salt to taste. These are the best green beans I've made yet. Will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I made it for a T-bone steak dinner I prepared for our 1st anniversary. She went crazy over this and I wasn't far behind her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Cooper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Spring Park, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Mushroom & Bacon Green Beans Haiku: "Just ONE cup of beans, would never make four servings! I used a whole bag." Yea, the main ingredient "guts" of this recipe have a ratio that's a wee bit off. I wanted 4 of us to get nice helpings of green beans alongside salmon, and one cup ain't gonna cut it, folks. Oh, and why use butter to saute the garlic, onion and mushrooms, and not the bacon grease from getting the 2 TB of crumbled bacon? (Unless --shudder-- you're using a jar of bac'o-bits?) - so I did just that, sauteed in the bacon grease, continued w/ rest of recipe, but used a 12 oz. bag of frozen green beans. The taste though - WOW. I'd give 10 stars alone for a magical mix of mushroom/bacon/bean!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This is a good side dish....next time I won't mince the onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
YUM!! I did do a teensy bit of mods using what I had on hand, but this recipe is dynamite. Subs - canned french cut green beans drained and cooked the mushrooms, onion, and garlic in a tad of bacon grease before adding the beans and bacon pieces. I have a larger family, so I doubled the green beans and eyeballed the rest. The kids loved it and we are definitely going to add this to our regular rotation. Thank you PrncssLee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugarplum
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Loved these green beans! I cut the amount of mushrooms in half and doubled the amount of green beans. super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugarplum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
If I had prepared this recipe strictly as written I'm fairly confident I would have had a problem with it. A whole 8 oz. package of mushrooms to a mere cup of green beans would be just a tad heavy on the mushrooms - unless this was a mushroom side dish and not a green bean side dish! That said, I chose to substitute fresh green beans, cooking them in simmering water for five minutes, then transferring them to an ice bath. I used a combination of butter and bacon grease to sauté my desired amount of mushrooms, onions and, at the last, the garlic, and cooked bacon - then tossed in the cooked green beans and heated them through. All of the additions - the garlic, onion, bacon, mushrooms and lemon-pepper seasoning all contributed great flavor to this unordinary green bean side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Decided to try this with a pork roast tonight, and it turned out so good that my fiancee ate two servings before I had finished serving myself. Will definitely be a repeat side dish. Although I should clarify that I did use canned french style beans since I did not have any frozen ones. Everything else I followed the recipe for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made a few slight changes. I used shallots instead of onions. I used fresh haricots verts and skipped the lemon pepper seasoning. It was a big hit as a side dish at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Hickson Haliotis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I have used this recipe for years, and it is great!! Glad to see it on here. It is a easy, quick, but extremely tasty recipe. I use fresh green beans, shitake mushrooms, and shallots. Makes it a little more exotic in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States