Murgh Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I loved it, especially because it leaves a spicy hot taste in the back of the throat. I changed the half and half for half of sour cream. I really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Love this recipe! this was my first foray into Indian cooking and I was pleased to say it was pretty good! I love how everything is more or less scratch, and delicious. I add a bit more garlic (hard to go wrong!) and serve with naan bread and rice. since I can't find fenugreek leaves, I use the powder. I actually did this for my extended family around Christmas, and even for my grandparents whose palettes aren't particularly adventurous, they really enjoyed this meal. yummy! I have also added spinach at the last minute and it was a nice flavour as well with a bit more nutrition :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Easy recipe that resulted in a very tasty dish. I didn't make it very spicy by not adding very much chili powder. The dish was very flavourful so I didn't have to add very much salt either. I marinated the pieces of chicken thighs overnight and they turned out great. I also doubled the garlic/onion/ginger paste, tomatoes and evaporated milk because I wanted double the amount of sauce. I cooked some mushrooms in the extra sauce and it was delicious. I would make this again because it is a simple recipe with great flavour. I used canned crushed tomatoes this time but next time I might try to puree canned diced tomatoes or fresh ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
very good. I used lentils instead of chicken since I'm vegetarian and I thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
We loved this recipe! Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This is a very good recipe that I will definitely make again. Next time I'll probably add less salt (1/2-3/4 t), and less Indian chili powder (1/8 t) so it's not quite as spicy. I used a combo of condensed milk and half & half and it turned out nicely. I ended up adding extra half & half just to balance out the salt and heat. But we loved this meal served over jasmine rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I used heavy whipping cream instead of Half-n-Half, and I increased the chili powder to 1/2t. Great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I have had butter chicken in many Indian restaurants. This recipe is So easy and So good. I really like spice so I doubled the chilli powder. I used good Indian ingredients from the Indian Market too. I would not change a thing. Next time I am going to double it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roblin, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
We really liked this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
So easy and my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States