Murgh Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This was every bit as good as the butter chicken served in restaurants, my husband was really impressed with me! I didn't have yogurt for the marinade so I used sour cream, it still worked really well. I'll use this recipe again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I have looked for years for a Butter Chicken recipe that could compare to what I get at good local Indian restaurants and this is as close as I have come. Fantastic! The family loves it! Thank you for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I absolutely loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Wonderful - made a substitution of 2 bay leaves for the fenugreek, but otherwise stuck to the recipe exactly. Perfect dish with just the right amount of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond Hill, New York, USA
Living In: Lake Ronkonkoma, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I used this recipe mainly as a reference for the spices. I made it with lamb sprinkled with all the salt, garam masala, and tandoori masala - when the lamb was browned and all liquid evaporated, I added the ground ginger, onion, and garlic, and cooked for about 10 minutes. Then I added crushed tomatoes and cooked for about 45 minutes, until lamb was tender, then stirred in the cream. Really really good. Oh, and depending on the spiciness of your tandoori masala, the chili powder may not be necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I loved this so much I make it weekly now!! The entire family loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This was delicious! My daughter and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This one is really hard to review properly as I was unable to find 3 of the ingredients locally and had to improvise. It is really between 3-4 stars but I am going to err on the side of 3 for now. I have ordered the 3 ingredients I am missing thus I will update my review when I can make it as written. I figure others my have issues finding these ingredients and are wondering how the substitutions found on the web will work which is why I've chosen to review it in this manner. The ingredients I could not get were, Indian chili powder, frnugreek leaves, and tandoori masala. I found a recipe online to make my own tandori but that too called for fenegreek leaves so I just omitted them. in place of indian chili powder I used hungarian hot paprika and I just omitted the fenugreek leaves bc my research told me that they do not all a whole lot to the recipe. The dish was not bad. good enough flavor but nothing that would knock my socks off My husband said he liked it and my 2yr old ate some too without any resistanced. I used sea salt and unfortunately that caused the dish to be a tad too salty so I will cut that back by half next time. I am really looking forward to trying this again with the proper ingredients but you are able to make a passable version with substations if need be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I also used heavy cream instead of 1/2 & 1/2 and added fresh methi leaves.....delicious for our thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This is simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizRicksLiebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States