Munn Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
The name comes from the German word for POPPY which is MOHN. The thinner you make them, the better. They are very dense - like a shortbread - and not sweet. Great with coffee. The dough is crumbly, so when I get to the end, I form a log (this could be done in plastic) and slice the log. I also use a small cookie cutter as the larger they are, the harder they are to cook through to the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I'd never tasted or even heard of these cookies before I saw the recipe here while looking for a lemon and poppy seed muffin recipe. I made these cookies instead. These came out so good. I got about 8 dozen cookies out of the batch (I used a smallish heart-shaped cookie cutter). Not having tasted them before, the taste and texture of the cookie base itself reminded me a little of a shortbread cookie. These cookies go really well with a cup of tea, as noted in another review. The cookies are only mildly sweet. They keep their shape well while baking. They are sturdy and crunchy without being hard. I had a slight problem with the dough sticking as I rolled it out, so I just dusted on some more flour to make it work. I am about to make another batch right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Those who've not tried this recipe are really missing out! This is a great cookie to add to a more traditional holiday plate, because it looks so elegant. The taste is subtle with a lovely lemony finish. (I was generous with the lemon zest.) I was initially concerned about straying away from the circle shape, but my stars turned out lovely. I could easily see one adding a nice sugar glaze if they want a more decadent flavor, but I don't think it's necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
These cookies are very crumbly and biscuit like. I didn't use quite 1/2 cup of poppy seeds. Instead of egg wash and sugar on top I used sugar cookie icing from this site and added lemon extract and yellow food coloring. I usually like thick chewy cut out cookies but the thin crispies were better with these. I did not like these without the icing but they were very good with it. Very tart and fresh! Thanks Alex!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
These are always a big hit . Whenever I bring them to a gathering I'm always asked for the recipe!. Sometime I substitute orange zest and organge juice and they are wonderful also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This is a wondeerful recipe. The cookies tasted just heavenly with a light citrus flavor and, as the author indicated, they are great with tea. It really accent the flavor of Earl Grey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pine Knot, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was the delicious crispy cookies. I like cookies crispier. I've tried several other lemmon (and lime) cookie recipes from this site, and they always turned out soft cake like cookies. But I made perfect crispy lemmon poppyseed cookies with this one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
They are really called mohn cookies (mohn is poppy in German and they are Yiddish cookies); those were... okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
Munn cookies are a traditional recipe passed down from generation to generation. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States