Munn Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
Munn cookies are a traditional recipe passed down from generation to generation. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This is a wondeerful recipe. The cookies tasted just heavenly with a light citrus flavor and, as the author indicated, they are great with tea. It really accent the flavor of Earl Grey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pine Knot, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
A delectable flaky cookie--almost like a wafer. The only problem I had was with the glaze--it was a bit messy and hard to handle--be sure to paint it on with a brush! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
These are always a big hit . Whenever I bring them to a gathering I'm always asked for the recipe!. Sometime I substitute orange zest and organge juice and they are wonderful also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
These cookies are very crumbly and biscuit like. I didn't use quite 1/2 cup of poppy seeds. Instead of egg wash and sugar on top I used sugar cookie icing from this site and added lemon extract and yellow food coloring. I usually like thick chewy cut out cookies but the thin crispies were better with these. I did not like these without the icing but they were very good with it. Very tart and fresh! Thanks Alex!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
They are really called mohn cookies (mohn is poppy in German and they are Yiddish cookies); those were... okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I added more poppyseeds because I love them..Did some with colored sugar on top and others I glazed once cool with an icing sugar/lemon juice/lemon rind mix. My husband liked the sugar ones and I preferred them glazed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was the delicious crispy cookies. I like cookies crispier. I've tried several other lemmon (and lime) cookie recipes from this site, and they always turned out soft cake like cookies. But I made perfect crispy lemmon poppyseed cookies with this one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
The name comes from the German word for POPPY which is MOHN. The thinner you make them, the better. They are very dense - like a shortbread - and not sweet. Great with coffee. The dough is crumbly, so when I get to the end, I form a log (this could be done in plastic) and slice the log. I also use a small cookie cutter as the larger they are, the harder they are to cook through to the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States