Mung Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This was pretty good, but not much of a stew. It didn't have enough broth to classify as a stew or a soup. Perhaps it was more of a casserole? It had ALOT of potatoes. It was very much a comfort food type of dish. Fairly plain and filling, but nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alicia
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This was a very good stew. I didn't have onions or celery and I added fresh green beans. I skipped the pre-cooking of everything (except the beans, of course) and just rough chopped all the veggies and put it all in a casserole dish. I cooked it in the oven for probably about an hour until the veggies were cooked to my liking (al dente). It would probably do just as well on the stove top in a big pot. I will definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I followed the recipe but ommitted the celery as I did not have any. My mung beans are small and green and do not look anything like the pictured stew but all the same, this recipe is very savory and delicious. Thank you for posting it. I had a bag of mung beans to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Five potatoes were going to be far too much so I cut it back to two, which I thought was still a little too much. The flavor was very good but a little bland so I sprinkled just a little bit of red pepper flakes on it. Overall very healthy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
After tweaking this stew was very nice. However, the following should be noted: First, the recipe needs to be more precise about the potatoes used. 5 red potatoes is far different from 5 russet potatoes. I used 1 medium russet and 1 small sweet potato. Second, more stock is needed, at least 1 more cup. Otherwise it is too dry. Lastly, more herbs are needed. I added a bay leaf and rosemary. I also added some Tobasco to my personal portions. With those tweaks the stew was very nice with a side salad and a sesame seed roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Really tasty. I cooked it in a slow cooker. The only change was I added some extra water and it was a nice consistency, not too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rotunda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Juli
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I usually hate it when people review a recipe, but then say they changed a bunch of stuff, but I'm beginning to see how it can be helpful to get ideas to make a good recipe better. I didn't have potatoes, so I used sweet potatoes instead. I was surprised the recipe didn't call for any other spices, so I looked up what spices went well with mung beans and I added ginger and cumin. The result was phenomenal! A sweet zingy stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juli

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Nice, simple stew. It had a breakfast feel to me, so I added scrambled eggs to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I used Tamarind soup base and added fish. Next time I will add fresh green beans and maybe chicken. I didn't put it in the oven just made it like I would a soup with lots of broth. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This was good healthy comfort food. I liked the instructions for cooking the mung beans. They came good. It actually would have made a great filling for a pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States