Mung Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I doubled this recipe and used half sweet potatoes like some other members have done. My spices were 1 bay leaf, 1/2 tsp Turmeric, and 1/2 tsp ground Cayenne Red Pepper. I also added 1 small sliced zucchini to the mix. It was an awesome soup...and so nutritious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I totally changed this. I par boiled 1/2 cup mung beans, 1/4 cup lentils, 1/4 cup split peas with vegetable broth powder, about 20 min. I also par boiled 1 large red potato, celery, carrot, 1/4 onion, 1 garlic, cauliflower. Add 1 can diced tomatoes. Mixed together and let stew on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I tried this recipe with a little variation and it was delicious! I did not use mushrooms but sliced two small sweet potatoes instead of the white potatoes and cooked like the recipe indicated. I love onions and I just sliced them instead of chopped. I added fresh grated ginger, turmeric and cumin to the mixture and baked in the oven. I forgot to cover but it was great! I will try other beans. I think lentils, for sure would be good. In addition, it looked good too. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
A great way to introduce mung beans into your diet -however, with a number of changes to the original recipe. I used 2 sweet potatoes instead of white potatoes; added minced garlic with the carrots/celery. Also included a bay leaf, rosemary, cumin, turmeric, celery seed & cayenne; used 3 cups of broth instead of 2 cups. For a change, could add soy sauce. Recipe will not look like photo - mung beans will cook down. I've baked in the oven and also prepared in slow cooker. We enjoy with rice. I'm vegetarian, but the rest of my family is not. We all enjoy this dish (only way to get my son to eat sweet potatoes)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This was good healthy comfort food. I liked the instructions for cooking the mung beans. They came good. It actually would have made a great filling for a pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I used Tamarind soup base and added fish. Next time I will add fresh green beans and maybe chicken. I didn't put it in the oven just made it like I would a soup with lots of broth. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Nice, simple stew. It had a breakfast feel to me, so I added scrambled eggs to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Juli
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I usually hate it when people review a recipe, but then say they changed a bunch of stuff, but I'm beginning to see how it can be helpful to get ideas to make a good recipe better. I didn't have potatoes, so I used sweet potatoes instead. I was surprised the recipe didn't call for any other spices, so I looked up what spices went well with mung beans and I added ginger and cumin. The result was phenomenal! A sweet zingy stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juli

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Really tasty. I cooked it in a slow cooker. The only change was I added some extra water and it was a nice consistency, not too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rotunda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
After tweaking this stew was very nice. However, the following should be noted: First, the recipe needs to be more precise about the potatoes used. 5 red potatoes is far different from 5 russet potatoes. I used 1 medium russet and 1 small sweet potato. Second, more stock is needed, at least 1 more cup. Otherwise it is too dry. Lastly, more herbs are needed. I added a bay leaf and rosemary. I also added some Tobasco to my personal portions. With those tweaks the stew was very nice with a side salad and a sesame seed roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States