Mum's Irish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Wow! I've made apple pie in the past with very little luck at making a really good dessert. This one was just perfect! My guests raved about it! They were so impressed at its sweetness that they compared it to other homemade pies made with tart apples, saying that mine was the sweetest ever (and I made this pie with Granny Smith apples)! I loved how simple this pie was to make, and I will definitely repeat it from now on! I may make just one change to the original recipe and stir the filling together before placing it in the crust to create more of a sauce, but that would be my only change if I tried it. This was just right for St. Patrick's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mald1983

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elko, Nevada, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mariouka_7@hotmail.com
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I baked it this morning. Th cooked dough is delicious. Can't wait to serve and eat it on St-Patrick's dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This was the very first time I ever attempted to make an apple pie (or any other pie for that matter). Everyone LOVED it! I especially enjoyed the buttery flaky crust...mmm...mm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandaceGray25
Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I baked this pie yesterday to accompany an Irish dinner. I substituted a wee splash of Half and Half for the sour cream (none in 'fridge), and I had Gala apples on hand which worked well. I used the suggested half teaspoon of freshly grated nutmeg. The crust is amazing with it's buttery flavor. (I used Irish butter which is, in my opinion, simply delicious.) I do think a little allspice or other favorite pie spice might add a nice touch. Still, it is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
It was good but somehow I thought it would be sweeter! Used local apples and store bought crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
delicious, followed recipe as written, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Fantastic! The crust is so flaky that it is almost like a phyllo dough. This pie got my husband and daughter to eat cooked apples, both of whom really dislike cooked apples! The pie was so beautiful coming out of the oven I almost took a picture. You won't be disappointed with this recipe. Like others, I reduced the nutmeg; I just grated some fresh on top of the apples until it looked like enough. I also sprinkled some cinnamon on top of the apples before adding the top crust. Thanks for one of my new favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
The crust to this pie was DELICIOUS!!! It was sweet and a little tangy thanks to the lemon, and oh so flakey! WOW! As far as the middle it was about so so, knocking this recipe down to 4 stars. Using granny smiths made it a bit too tart and the filling wasn't moist at all, but perhaps I'm not considering that this recipe has a different origin than those I'm used to. Overall, good, and you can't beat this crust recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Actually, the pie overall for me was 2 stars... less than average. But, after a family vote, we gave it 3 because the problem that I had was that I put the pie in my 350 degree oven for 40 minutes (it's a true 350 degrees, as I have three thermometers inside the oven checking)... and the top of the pie burnt to a crisp. This wouldn't have happened, if I had been checking on it - not the recipe's fault - all mine. If you make this recipe, be sure to start checking after 30 minutes. The rest of the pie was absolutely fine, including the sides and bottom crust. The filling was a bit too tart for our taste (I would use maybe pink lady next time). So, we rated it better than average, but there are other apple pies better suited for my family's taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
By far one of the best apple pie recipes I have ever followed including my Mom's! I love the pie crust, it was so easy to make and roll out. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I made it for Thanksgiving, came home from work yesterday to find apples from the market and a request from my hubby to make it for Xmas. Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States