Mum's Irish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
Wonderful apple pie! A traditional flavor and lots of hearty goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
This is a very good pie recipe, the crust was fabulous. The pie needed to be cooked about 5 additional minutes and the recipe calls for just a touch too much nutmeg. But otherwise it is very good, a definate must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
This recipe was a hit! This was my first attempt at making a quality pie crust and I was worried that it would come out poorly. The crust was *perfect*. It came out flakey and a beautiful golden brown. The filling was tender but still had a nice crunch. I made this recipe for a friend who normally did not like apple pie and he loved it. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
wonderful recipe..i especially loved the crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
This recipe turned out great! So delicious when served warm. Pastry was easy to work with and turned out great. I used 6 apples and added an extra tbsp flour to the filling, and used cinnamon instead of nutmeg. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
I made this pie for St. Patrick's Day and it looked great and was so tasty! I may go slightly lighter on the nutmeg next time, but it was the crust I couldn't stop thinking about for days! Sour cream was the secret ingredient that made it wonderful. I don't think I've ever made a homemade crust before (I always get the Pillsbury folded up kind) but it was easy! Also, I used a shamrock-shaped cookie cutter to cut three shamrocks in the top crust. I didn't remove the cut pieces, I just scooted them over slightly. These acted as decorative steam slots. I also like to put any leftover rolled out crust dough in a small pan, sprinkle it with cinnamon and sugar and put it in the oven with the pie for a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
I used a frozen crust because I was short on time, but the filling for the apple pie is great. Next time I'll make the crust too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
This was rated by my husband as "excellent pie, baby." I did make some variations and let me say right now that this is my second pie this week and I am NOT good at rolling dough. It didn't look as good as it tasted because I can't seem to make the dough as thin, pliable and uniform as others can. I don't think this has as much to do with the recipie than with my inability to do proper pastry. My variations include: Jonagold apples (next time I will use granny smith because these were too sweet) and instead of 1/2 T of nutmeg, I used 1 t. of cinnamon and 1/2 t. of nutmeg and a tiny dash of allspice. Also, I cut the apples into chunks rather than slices and put the pie into a 425 degree oven for 10 mintes and then reduce to 350 for another 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I think with all of the changes the reviewers have made it will be a great pie. I found that you do need to go lighter on the nutmeg and bake it about 10 minutes longer. I only needed 4 large apples and also had a difficult time with the crust being too sticky...even after I refrigerated it, but the crust problems could be just me. All in all it was a pretty good pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I made this for Thanksgiving--the crust was excellent, and came out a beautiful golden brown. I will surely make this again; however, I think I'll put sugar on the top crust to give it a sweeter flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States