Mum's Irish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 31, 2004
For a rookie cook, this wasn't the easiest thing to make... I was covered with flour and looked white as the Pillsberry Doughboy when I was done with the crust. The finished product, however, was outstanding. The only thing I changed was to make a 10" pie instead of a 9" because I had so many apples cut up. I should have made two pies because my wife and I ate half the pie before it cooled. This was my first attempt at making any kind of desert. Best apple pie I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
This pie was AMAZING. The crust was easy to make and was the perfect flavor and flaky. I only made one change to the recipe, and that was to sprinkle the top of the pie with turbinado sugar, which made its appearance really nice (tasted good too!). I will definitely be making this pie again and again - BEST APPLE PIE I'VE HAD!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
Thank you all for your kind reviews. It's just fantastic to see so many people enjoying this recipe. I have made this pie many, many times and would agree with all of the reviewers who say to cut back on the nutmeg. I would recommend that you use no more ½ a teaspoon of nutmeg when you make it, in fact if you can get hold of mixed spice (not 5-spice!) that works even better! You can use just all-purpose flour for the crust too and it works just as well, also 1-cup of butter is two sticks :-) Hope you all continue to enjoy the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIANGREEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
This crust was awesome! I had some problems rolling it though (90 degrees here yesterday) so when I rolled the top crust I did it between two sheets of waxed paper and that worked much better. I cheated and used a can of Comstock apple filling adding nutmeg-1 tsp and lemon juice. I plan on making the crust to use on my chicken pot pie, also want to try it for a quiche. Follow up: As good as this crust is and it is, the bottom crust just doesn't hold up the next day so plan on eating this the day you make it. I still want to use this for a top crust on my chicken pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
This was the first pie I have ever made from scratch. I agree with everyone else that the crust was very delicious! I made this pie the night before, and by the time we were ready to eat it the next day, it was very soupy inside. I have no idea why, but everyone agreed it still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTLES1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I just made this pie today and must say this I the best crust I have ever tasted. The dough was a little difficult to work with, but well worth the effort. I did change some things with the filling. I used 5 Granny Smith apples and 1 Honeycrisp apple. I used brown sugar instead of the white sugar and the juice of one lemon. Thanks Brian for a great recipe. I have gotten rave reviews from all the pie lover at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
This was good. It was a little sour but suited me just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
Oh my gosh, this apple pie was *WONDERFUL*. The crust was the best crust I have ever had on a pie before and I will try it with my other sweet pies. I must admit, I too had my doubts about the crust after reading it, but have no fears, it's first class. The only thing I did change was that I followed an earlier review and added cinnamon and a pinch of allspice, and cut down on the nutmeg by about a pinch. I will definetly be making this again. Thank you Brian for letting us all enjoy your mother's recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
This is the first pie I've ever made, and it turned out much better than expected. I was having difficulty getting the dough to hold together, so I doubled the sour cream, and it came out very rich but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
The crust on this pie was absolutly amazing and blew our friends away when I served this on St. Patrick's Day, and have been requested to make it again for Easter. You will not be dissapointed!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States