Mum's Irish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
By far one of the best apple pie recipes I have ever followed including my Mom's! I love the pie crust, it was so easy to make and roll out. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I made it for Thanksgiving, came home from work yesterday to find apples from the market and a request from my hubby to make it for Xmas. Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This is, without a doubt, the best apple pie EVER. I don't need to keep looking for a better one. Some tips: I added a little cinnamon, a bit more lemon juice, used an assortment of apples (ESPECIALLY local apples!! They make a difference!), and used coconut oil as the shortening. It has a very light flavor, you won't taste any coconut in the crust, and it's so much healthier for you than crisco. I add a tablespoon of water to the egg wash, and bake the crust blind first...Incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Landon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This recipe was amazing. It didn't last more than a few hours once it cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This recipe makes an absolutely delicious pie. I tried the crust when it first came out of the oven and I was afraid it was too buttery, but combined with the filling, it is a perfect mixture. I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This was the best apple pie ever! I did go with what one reviewer said for the apple topping and I added a 1/4 cup of brown sugar and I changed the nutmeg to apple pie spice. The crust was soo delicious! It tasted like shortbread cookies. Yum! My husband liked this apple pie so much that he joked that he wanted me to make this once a week. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. It's a winner and a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Anne Moseley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This pie was delicious. The pastry came out crispy and melted in your mouth, like shortbread. I added cinnamon to my nutmeg mixture. Will make again definately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I love this pie crust recipe! I think it is the best I have ever had and have been making it for about two years now. My hubby loves it!!! Don't change a thing as it is perfect the way it is... Love the SC...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This was wonderful,, I made it for my big St. Patricks day Feast for the whole family,, It was a big hit,, The crust/pastry is so good,, I did change it to 1 tea. nutmeg and 1 tea. cinnamon,,will make again,,, family is already wanting another,!!!thank you for sharing,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
To me the pie was just ok but I must add I only used one stick of butter--two seemed like a lot to me. The bottom crust came out soggy and I think it was because the temp of the oven was so low.(But could have been the lack of the rest of the butter) I did like the way the crust rolled out and handled but didn't feel it was anything special. I will stick with my usual recipe which is the french pastry pie crust from this site. For my own taste, I prefer this one better. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I'd give the crust a definite 5! The filling was lacking in flavor though. It seemed to need more sugar and maybe some cinnamon? I'm going to use the crust recipe in an apple pie baking contest though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daddy's girl

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States