Multigrain Seeded Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
This bread is absolutely delicious! My husband doesn't like multigrain breads, but I can't keep this in the house. I've been asked to make it for some of his friends, too. Toasted, it's out of this world! I increased the amount of seeds in the recipe and it works out just fine. It is time consuming to make, but the effort is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
My husband is German and it is difficult to get authentic German seeded bread even in NYC but this recipe was a must keep! It was perfect. We just dumped the ingredients into the bread machine on the whole wheat cycle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I experimented with a number of multi-grain bread recipes and this one is by far the best. However, you have to be aware of a couple things before starting. First, one standard 4/16oz packet of yeast will not do. I use Hodgson Mill 5/16oz packets labeled "For all flours especially whole grain." Second, the dough this recipe produces after the first rising is a gooey muck! After some experimenting I found that the best way to roll it out is to first spray your cutting board with a non-stick coating of some sort. After that you can either use a rolling pin (also sprayed) or your hands to stretch out the dough before putting it in the baking pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
Excellent flavor and texture; I made this for a dinner party and it was devoured! Seeds reserved for the top didn't stick very well, so next time I'd probably keep less for the top and just add it into the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This makes a delicious loaf of bread. I have made it twice now and I did add more salt to the second loaf - the first tasted good but was definitely lacking salt. I increased the amount to one full teaspoon and it didn't inhibit the rise at all. I needed to add a bit more flour since I used my Kitchen Aid mixer with dough hook to knead the bread - it was a bit too sticky. I probably ended up adding another 1/3-1/2 cup flour as it was kneading. I also used egg white wash on the top as recommended by another reviewer, but I did this before the second rise allowing the seeds to adhere a bit better and any that fell between the bread and the sides of the pan ended up sticking to the sides of the bread. It does take a while to make with having to rise twice, but it is definitely worth the time. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I used flax seeds instead of sesame seeds and this recipe is a keeper! I also poured about 1/4 cup of boiling water over the nut & oats mix to moisten them. I let them soak up the water while the bread was rising. This made the bread nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauralie1978

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I added 2 tablespoons of flax seeds too. I love this bread, Teroula
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Turned out really well in the breadmaker. I am diabetic and can't get wholewheat bread/flour where I live so make my own - used flaxseeds instead of sesame seeds. Used only ¼ cup regular flour and made up half a cup with stuff I had in the cupboard - soy flour, oat bran and wheat germ. Can cut into very thin slices & freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I made this bread today to go with some homemade chicken vegetable soup. I added pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, oat bran (couple Tbs) and old fashion oat meal (couple Tbs). I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of whole wheat. Also put in a little less than 1/2 teas salt - will use even less next time. It turned out great and not overly dense! I, too, had to add additional flour while kneading - about 1/4 cup plus two Tbs - and mixed everything to start in my stand mixer. I can't wait to try it again and maybe increase the molasses. It was a great hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
loved this bread so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States