Multigrain Seeded Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Anthony Gibney
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Pretty good. Nice and light. Just lacking a bit in the flavor department, not sure what is missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony Gibney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I experimented with a number of multi-grain bread recipes and this one is by far the best. However, you have to be aware of a couple things before starting. First, one standard 4/16oz packet of yeast will not do. I use Hodgson Mill 5/16oz packets labeled "For all flours especially whole grain." Second, the dough this recipe produces after the first rising is a gooey muck! After some experimenting I found that the best way to roll it out is to first spray your cutting board with a non-stick coating of some sort. After that you can either use a rolling pin (also sprayed) or your hands to stretch out the dough before putting it in the baking pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Really good, I added just a touch of honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
loved this bread so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This makes a delicious loaf of bread. I have made it twice now and I did add more salt to the second loaf - the first tasted good but was definitely lacking salt. I increased the amount to one full teaspoon and it didn't inhibit the rise at all. I needed to add a bit more flour since I used my Kitchen Aid mixer with dough hook to knead the bread - it was a bit too sticky. I probably ended up adding another 1/3-1/2 cup flour as it was kneading. I also used egg white wash on the top as recommended by another reviewer, but I did this before the second rise allowing the seeds to adhere a bit better and any that fell between the bread and the sides of the pan ended up sticking to the sides of the bread. It does take a while to make with having to rise twice, but it is definitely worth the time. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I made this bread today to go with some homemade chicken vegetable soup. I added pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, oat bran (couple Tbs) and old fashion oat meal (couple Tbs). I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of whole wheat. Also put in a little less than 1/2 teas salt - will use even less next time. It turned out great and not overly dense! I, too, had to add additional flour while kneading - about 1/4 cup plus two Tbs - and mixed everything to start in my stand mixer. I can't wait to try it again and maybe increase the molasses. It was a great hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I was very much looking forward to making this bread, because I love seeded breads. This particular recipe makes a very course, dense, bland, fairly dry bread. While others might like that, I much prefer many other recipes for this type of bread that have more moisture and elasticity. While we won't be making it again, if you do make it, don't worry about how gooey and viscous the dough is (others have commented on their concerns about this). Adding more flour would make it far too stiff to eat (it already leans in that direction). If you let it stay gooey, it bakes fine. I used a bread machine, and at first it appeared to be gooing up the bread pan without any hope of adhering as a loaf, but then it balled right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I was quite disappointed in the final product. While it tasted marvelous, it hardly rose at all. Therefore, I have a small, quite dense loaf that tastes really good. Can't have it all, I guess! I give it 5 stars for taste but onloy 3 for appearance - average of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Turned out really well in the breadmaker. I am diabetic and can't get wholewheat bread/flour where I live so make my own - used flaxseeds instead of sesame seeds. Used only ¼ cup regular flour and made up half a cup with stuff I had in the cupboard - soy flour, oat bran and wheat germ. Can cut into very thin slices & freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Can go easier on the seeds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States