Multigrain Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
I was looking for a not-too-sweet, whole grain muffin recipe. My search ended here! These have an excellent flavor and texture. Instead of using buttermilk, which I never have around, I combine 1 TBS malt vinegar, 1 TBS part-skim ricotta cheese and enough milk to make 1 cup, blending well with a whisk. I bake them 15 minutes at 425 degrees - they got a little too brown at 450. I have also made them without the rye flour, using 2 parts whole wheat flour to 1 part soy flour. The recipe as stated only yielded 6 muffins in my pan, so I always make a double batch now. They freeze well and make a great workday snack with a little butter. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I absolutely loves these muffins but I did change them up a bit. I was on a search for a base recipe to make protein muffins. I did 1/3 cup whole wheat flour, 1/3 cup oat bran, 1/3 cup vanilla whey protein powder. I used apple sauce + 1 tsp baking powder in place of the egg, and 1 cup nonfat plain yogurt in place of the buttermilk. I used 1 banana (mashed) in place of the oil and I added 1 tbs of chia seeds. I also added chopped prunes & dates and some chopped walnuts as well. I baked at 350 deg for about 22 minutes. These muffins turned out fantastic. Super healthy but very delicious. Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Great, versatile recipe. I read others comments so I used Greek vanilla yogurt instead of buttermilk since I did not have any. Instead of rye flour I used sorghum as Dr. Oz recommends it since it is not high on the glycemic index. Then I added 1/3 cup of ground flax seed and a maybe 2 TB of artificial sweetener. I was looking to make blueberry muffins so I added 1/3 cup of them and baked it lower in my convection oven at 350 degrees. They came out way better than the other muffins I've made from recipes on here, real moist and just right as far as sweetness. I am going to have this be my go-to muffin recipe. Thanks, Saundra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
These are moist, delicious and easy to make. I did not have soy flour on hand so I used bread flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2001
This was a quick recipe. The texture was light and moist. I substituted orange juice for 1/2 of the liquid (still using buttermilk for the other half), drained applesauce for the oil, and honey for the molasses. Good with peanut butter and jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Because of the comments saying the muffins lacked flavor, I used butter instead of oil, but I accidentally used 1/3 cup instead of the 1 tablespoon because I was looking at the wrong recipe. I also increased the salt to 3/4 teaspoon, used 1.5 tablespoons of brown sugar instead of molasses, used oat bran instead of barley flour and used a combination of reconstituted milk non-fat milk and apple juice for the liquid. I sprinkled brown sugar and quick oats on top for a garnish. They were very tasty but a little on the salty and buttery side. I think next time I will use 2 tablespoons of butter, the same 1.5 tablespoons of brown sugar and the same mix of flours and liquids. The balance of flours in this recipe is good because the use of soy flour isn't apparent in the texture or flavor. I basically made these in lieu of multi-grain bread, so someone who wants more "traditional" muffins should probably add spices or fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Very good! I used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 rye flour because I had no soy. I also used 1/2 OJ 1/2 Milk with Vinegar for the buttermilk. Very good - not dry at all! I will be making these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
My batter was really runny, so I added a bit of oatmeal, but they were still pretty squishy. I cooked them at 450, but agree with others a lower temp would be better. I added cinnamon and a bit of orange marmalade since I did not have juice. Loved the flavor, need to work on the texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2000
The muffins were fine but on a personal basis I prefer muffins a bit sweeter. These were not sweet at all but that could be changed with adding sweet juice or fruit to them. Those looking for a diet high in grains would like this recipe but my kids didn't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
These came out OK, a bit dry but it could be because my oven is kinda screwed up and they were overcooked. I probably won't make them again only because the sodium is very high for my diet needs, but maybe. I used extra whole wheat flour instead of the rye just because that's what I had on hand, and also added walnuts, raisins, half a chopped up banana and a diced peach. They didn't keep well, because of the peach so I highly recommend omiting that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States