Mulligatawny Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Wow! My hubby and I agree it's the best soup we ever tasted. I didn't puree the veggies because none of the other recipes I've ever seen do that and it would be a pain to pick the chicken out beforehand. I doubled the recipe except for using 6 cups beef stock total and 3 whole cloves total. I used 2 Tb. arrowroot to make it gluten free and ommitted the rice, it didn't need it. I used 1 tsp. of curry and 1 tsp. of garam marsala. Can't wait to try the leftovers tomorrow as I've heard it's even better the next day. Thanks so much for sharing this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Made this for a party recently and I couldn't believe how everyone raved about it! Making it again tonight, but this time with veg stock instead of beef. This is an absolutely perfect soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
The soup tastes great, but this recipe is frustrating. Next time, I won't be chopping the chicken up until I puree the veggies. This time, everything got put into the magic bullet together because I didn't have an hour to pick the chicken out. I also used extra curry and cloves for flavor, but otherwise, this is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Really delicious. I couldn't find mace at the market and used chicken stock instead. Had this with a grilled cheese sandwich on pita bread and had a yummy dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Love it! I added 1 cube of Vermont curry paste, med. hot; and 1/2 cup coconut milk. I also shredded the chicken and omitted the rice. Heavenly! Served it in a bread bowl. The med. hot curry does not make it spicy just flavorful, I don't do spicy. :) Also, make sure to mix your flour into a rouge before stiring it into your soup. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moab, Utah, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I'd never made this kind of soup before either, but it is now my new favorite! I had to make a few changes: didn't have any mace, so left it out; used chicken broth instead of beef broth; added 1/2 c. uncooked white rice and let it cook in the soup about 20 minutes. Delicious, thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Awesome! I used margarine ;-) (please excuse, watching the cholesterol) and substituted egg whites for chicken which I added in the end. Excellent taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
Before trying this recipe, I'd never had Mulligatawny soup and wasn't sure what to expect. I was a bit apprehensive when I saw how thick the mixture got after adding the flour but later realized there was nothing to worry about. This is the absolute best soup I've ever had! I followed the recipe "as is" except that I decided to double it since I wanted to use whole veggies (as opposed to 1/4 cups) and had lots of leftover rice from the day before. The recipe does not specify, but I used green apple, which added a fantastic punch to the flavor! This was so delicious and so easy. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States