Mulligatawny Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Wow! My hubby and I agree it's the best soup we ever tasted. I didn't puree the veggies because none of the other recipes I've ever seen do that and it would be a pain to pick the chicken out beforehand. I doubled the recipe except for using 6 cups beef stock total and 3 whole cloves total. I used 2 Tb. arrowroot to make it gluten free and ommitted the rice, it didn't need it. I used 1 tsp. of curry and 1 tsp. of garam marsala. Can't wait to try the leftovers tomorrow as I've heard it's even better the next day. Thanks so much for sharing this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Made this for a party recently and I couldn't believe how everyone raved about it! Making it again tonight, but this time with veg stock instead of beef. This is an absolutely perfect soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
The soup tastes great, but this recipe is frustrating. Next time, I won't be chopping the chicken up until I puree the veggies. This time, everything got put into the magic bullet together because I didn't have an hour to pick the chicken out. I also used extra curry and cloves for flavor, but otherwise, this is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Really delicious. I couldn't find mace at the market and used chicken stock instead. Had this with a grilled cheese sandwich on pita bread and had a yummy dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Love it! I added 1 cube of Vermont curry paste, med. hot; and 1/2 cup coconut milk. I also shredded the chicken and omitted the rice. Heavenly! Served it in a bread bowl. The med. hot curry does not make it spicy just flavorful, I don't do spicy. :) Also, make sure to mix your flour into a rouge before stiring it into your soup. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moab, Utah, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I'd never made this kind of soup before either, but it is now my new favorite! I had to make a few changes: didn't have any mace, so left it out; used chicken broth instead of beef broth; added 1/2 c. uncooked white rice and let it cook in the soup about 20 minutes. Delicious, thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Awesome! I used margarine ;-) (please excuse, watching the cholesterol) and substituted egg whites for chicken which I added in the end. Excellent taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
Before trying this recipe, I'd never had Mulligatawny soup and wasn't sure what to expect. I was a bit apprehensive when I saw how thick the mixture got after adding the flour but later realized there was nothing to worry about. This is the absolute best soup I've ever had! I followed the recipe "as is" except that I decided to double it since I wanted to use whole veggies (as opposed to 1/4 cups) and had lots of leftover rice from the day before. The recipe does not specify, but I used green apple, which added a fantastic punch to the flavor! This was so delicious and so easy. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States