Mulligatawny Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
This was very tasty and easy to make. I added a cup of cooked rice after it was finished, to add texture. I can see how cooked chicken would be good too. If I were to make it again, I would add more broth and less lentils. As it is, it seems more like pea soup than any mulligatawny I've had before. Still, the flavor is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
This is the first time I have ever had Mulligatawny soup so I'm not sure what it typically tastes like. I love Indian food and decided to make this recipe because it sounded intriguing. I followed the directions and added the spices as stated (as ground spices rather than whole). The overall result was delicious but this is probably not a recipe I will make again. I agree that it would taste MUCH better with whole spices that are toasted in oil and ground before adding. I also think I would reduce the amount of broth added to 5 or 6 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
Awesome! I added Chick peas and chicken. Very tasty and a favorite with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
This recipe is very aromatic and wonderful. I did change a few things because of difficult-to-find ingredients, and preference. For example, I actually opted not to use the blender because I love soup to have chunks of veggie in it. I also added 3 chicken breasts cut into small pieces, so my version was more like a REALLY tasty chicken soup. I used ground cardamom, and curry spices instead of the actual fresh leaves and pods, and tamarind paste instead of extract because of the rarity of the ingredients. Despite the simplifications/substitutions, this soup was INCREDIBLE. This is one of the best recipes on the whole site...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
This is a great recipe. I'll keep on making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Very tasty soup - even my picky parents, who are often afraid to try new flavors and food combinations, liked it. Since I didn't have a regular potato, I used an orange-fleshed sweet potato, ground cardamom, and I eliminated the clarified butter. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
Good - but too much bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
Wonderful! This soup was easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2001
Delicious and satisfying. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2001
Seriously excellent recipe. Anyone familiar with cooking Indian food will find it a breeze to make and anyone familiar with the taste of Indian food will know this ranks among the best Mulligatawny recipes. Do yourself a big favor, chefs: Roast and grind your own cumin, corriander seed, clove and cinnamon and make a slow-cooked caramel colored ghee to cook with. Really killer recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States