Mulligatawny Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
My family loves this. I can't get it quite like from the restaurant, but it is good. I make a double batch but don't double the stock/broth to make it a meal. It's our no meat meal. I use a bay leaf instead of curry leaves. I just can't find them. I don't add coconut milk for me, but I add it for my kids to tame the spice. My husband who loves spicy adds dried indian hot pepper to it. Recently I was out of coconut milk (misplanning on my part) and added a little sour cream and a little nonfat plain yogurt. The kids didn't seem to notice. I agree, you need to 'cook' the spices before adding the broth or its not the same. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
DELICIOUS. I used jalapeno peppers, and would enjoy some more potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieAllie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
just got back from 6 weeks in north India. This recipee hits it spot on. I know it is southern variation but then again, a lot of southern indian food in the north now! Asuggestion could be to add (1) bruised black cardommon pod for a bit of smokey flavour. WELL DONE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
definitly do not puree, takes away all the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This recipe is better than my local Indian restaurant's! I substituted ginger paste, curry powder, added a celery stalk, and used Better Than Bouillon for the broth. I sauteed the ghee, onions, and spices then added to a crock pot wiht the diced veggies, red lentils and broth then added the coconut, tamarind paste, lemon, and cilantro before serving. With some crusty bread, this makes a nice meal for a cold winter's night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. I wanted more of a curry and rice intead of soup, so I tweaked this in ways that don't really matter, so I won't bother to list them here. The recipe on its own is a great one. My observations: 1) it NEEDS salt, about 2 teaspoons; 2) if you don't want a spicy soup, be sure to clean all of the ribs and seeds out of your chilies before mincing them; 3) if you don't cook the spices in the beginning of the recipe as directed, the flavor will be good, but will be different than if you'd cooked them; 4) The flavor of cardamom pods differs from that of ground cardamom, and the pods are easier to find than the curry leaves, so do hunt them down if you can - I bought a jar of cardamom pods at Cost Plus World Market for $3. FYI, Indian grocery store items are a GREAT deal, as their items tend to be very inexpensive, which helps when you're taking on a recipe full of strange ingredients you don't normally have on hand. I went to an Indian grocery store in our area and asked about fresh curry leaves. The store didn't sell them, but the proprietor gave me a handful for free (they have a small homemade frozen food section and had the leaves on hand). So if you can't find the leaves, it's worth it to ask around, even at Indian/Asian restaurants. If you ask where they get the curry leaves, they might slip you some just to be nice (and garner your future business). :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
great creamy soup. add cooked chicken if you like chunks. The hand blender works wonderfully for pureeing this. Garam Masala can and probably should be added instead of the cloves, cinnamon, and cardamon. It is the same spices, and in India would be added toward the end of the cooking process: the last 5 minutes. Cumin would traditionally go in early, so keep that. The red, French, lentils are critical, because they cook so quickly. Couldn't get either curry leaves (which is not curry powder) or tamarind. Added a little extra lemon to make up for the last. Serve with rice or chapati (Indian grilled flat bread.) Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Great Soup!!! Just tweaked it a little to our taste. As others have said, didn't add the chiles- too hot for the kids, couldn't find curry leaves- so added about a tbsp of red curry paste, only added one can of coconut milk because that seemed ample. Served with some plain yoghurt on top and it made a really satisfying meal on a cool fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This is one of my favorite soups of all time -- tried this recipe years ago and make it anytime I can get my hand on curry leaves. I can't help but think that people that aren't crazy about it might be omitting the curry leaves and/or the tamarind -- in my opinion these two ingredients really make the soup wonderful. BTW, You can find curry leaf plants online in the U.S. (if I'm allowed to mention a site, Logee's used to carry them). Thank you Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Excellent! A fragrant, filling and delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States