Mulligatawny Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Add a bit of black pepper at the end ...I replaced the chicken broth to veg. broth and used yellow moong daal lentils (tip: if you are planning to make it, soak the lentils few hours earlier to make the cooking time shorter).... great recipe, great soup. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pree Ro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Excellent! Spicy aromatic taste it is the best !! I will make this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Sometimes a recipe comes along where you want to cry because it is so good. This is one of those recipes. The flavors were so delicious! I followed the recommendations and didn't puree the soup and I thought it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Put as many of the spices as I had in it... Followed the recipe 75%.. I can only imagine that if I had put all that it called for - it would be fabulous! This will be my new go to Mulligatawny recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Holy Cow!!! This is absolutely fabulous!!! It tastes more like Thai Soup than mulligatawny, but it is amazing. I added a teaspoon of white pepper and omitted the curry powder and it is the best soup I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Françoise Walusis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Pro: great flavor! Con: too thin. Solution: next time we'll double the lentils, carrot, and potato. Substitutions: we used tamarind paste instead of concentrate, dried cardamom instead of pods, vegetable broth instead of chicken, and curry powder instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Thank you for an insanely delicious soup recipe! I halved the recipe but used an entire onion, carrot, and Granny Smith apple. I only used 5 oz. of coconut milk (1 small can) for 1/2 recipe. It was so satisfying! I also used a mix of whole Masoor dhal and red split lentils. This is a keeper--very fast but soul-satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This is now my absolute favorite soup!!! Great on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Outstanding soup! I substituted one bay leaf for the curry leaves, since they are not available here. We also added half a diced chicken breast. Wonderful, complex flavors...this soup is not spicy hot but is spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potsdam, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Fabulous recipe for Mulligatawny Soup. For those unable to find tamarind concentrate - you aren't missing a thing. I live close to an Asian Indian store and was able to find this and all of the ingredients. Just before adding the tamarind concentrate I tasted the soup and it was fabulous. Immediately after adding the tamarind concentrate I regretted it. The concentrate masked the rich and deep flavors of the soup. When I make this again, I will either leave this out or only use 1/3 of what is called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States