Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This is good low-calorie soup if you do it right. I omitted the butter, flour, rice, cream and pepper (hello, its hot already!) I instead used 2 tsp of olive oil for the butter. Instead of using flour, I used 1 cup of potatoes, diced fine (in place of rice), since it will thicken up a stew anyway. I added 1% fat milk instead of cream, and passed around light sour cream for everyone to dollop on top (which totally was delicious, don't leave it out!) I used a total of 200g of raw chicken as well. The calories for me turned out to be 58 per 100g (I weighed the whole thing after cooking and then calculated a 100g serving.) fat 1.2g, carbs 6g, and protein 5.8g. (These calcs do not include the sour cream on top.) I'll definitely make it again, husband gave it a 10/10! And I grated the carrots, since I'm not a fan of them in dice form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
549 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Fantastic soup....just like wine, it gets better with time. Two or three days later the soup tasted even better than the first day. In my opinion, the cream is completely unnecessay...sooo good w/o it.(and less fattening too) Even my 8 year old and 18month old gobbled it up asking for more...definately double the recipe, or triple and freeze. Thank you so much!UPDATE: I have made this soup about 10 times now....I always double the recipe, add 3 tablespoons of yellow curry (so much more flavor) and I cut the apples in larger cubes cuz you can taste them so much more like that, and I use brown rice instead of white and just let it simmer longer. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
353 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Really delicious! As is, a rich, decadent first course/appetizer. I admit, though, that I upped the curry to 2 tsp and added cayenne, as another reviewer suggested. I also added pre-cooked brown rice to the soup, rather than raw white rice, because I have a lot of extra in the fridge. I also minced the apple, so my cooked-fruit-shy husband wouldn't notice. He didn't have a clue! Updating my review here: I have since made this chunkier and another time pureed. We like it best either pureed or very finely chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
282 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I took this basic recipe and added a few things I had around. 1 clove garlic, handfull of chopped fresh spinach, 1/2 cup diced mushrooms were added to the veggies. Then when it was finished I removed 1 cup and liquified it to make the soup creamier & left out the cream completely. Wonderful taste and nowhere near the fat & calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Should be 10 stars. I made a HUGE batch of this based on the reviews, and am SO glad I did. I tried it before adding part cream/part coconut milk, and it was good and flavorful, but the creamy mixture brought it all together wonderfully! The house smelled great for more than a day. I LOVE this! - adding to original review - I used a 1/2 and 1/2 mixture of red and yellow curries, and also added the same amount of Garam Masala as I did the curry. I have also stopped using butter, and switched to coconut oil and all coconut milk instead of cream. Pinot Nior was a perfect wine to have with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Delicious recipe. The only change I made was I shredded the apple with a cheese grater instead of chopping it up. The apples melted right into the soup and the soup was de-lish. (I just didn't care for the texture of cooked, softened apple chunks in my soup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
Excellent! I doubled the curry and used 1/2 and 1/2 and it tastes just as good but with fewer calories. I also used a rotiseree chicken and it adds a lot of great flavor to the soup. I also add about a cup more broth because I also add more carrots and rice. Really great recipe! Thanks so much! My husband begs for this soup all of the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Love this soup! I didn't have ready-made stock, so I used Better Than Bouillon Chicken flavor; very tasty, but I'm glad I didn't add any salt. The bouillon took care of that! Like other reviewers, I used 2tsp curry powder because we love it. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonroeMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
Yummy! Wow this soup is AWESOME. It's a great size recipe for one person and some reasonable leftovers!I used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of heavy cream and it was still remarkable. I plan to add this to my regular menu planning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
A very simple and extremely delicious recipe! This recipe is not pureed like most Mulligatawny I have had but is nice with the pieces of vegetables, chicken, etc. I also added a large clove of minced garlic with the vegetables at the beginning. Thanks for a terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 806) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States