Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
good recipe, but as always, a little tame for me. I doubled the curry, and added 1/4 tsp. of garham masala, and a couple of cloves. I also cut the amount of salt in half, used half and half instead of heavy cream, and added 1 cup of diced tomato, and a tsp. of lemmon juice. quite a jump from the recipe, but I liked it this way better. it is also nice to use a hand blender to puree the soup before adding the rice. gives it a nice creamy texture. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This was great. We loved it. I made it according to the recipe with the exception of omitting the celery because I hate it (I put a little celery seed in instead). My only complaint is that it didn't make enough! It definitely did not make 6 servings--it was more like 2.5. The picture looks much thinner than mine. Mine was extremely thick. Delicious, but thick. I will have to add more chicken broth next time if I want leftovers (and I do).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Oh. My. Goodness. This is fantastic. I can't wait to have it for lunch tomorrow! Even my two year old and non believer husband liked it. I did not add the apple, as I was fresh out, but will have to next time I make it. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vincent J. Marotta III
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
The only thing I would change about this recipe is the PORTION amount! In the picture above is the results of me following this recipe to a T! Only two bowls full?!!! Hardly 6 servings worth. In future preparations I'll TRIPLE the recipe to cook for a family, or for delicious leftovers for myself. Other than that, this soup is incredible. One of the best non-Italian soups i've ever tasted! It rivals some professionally-made soups I've experienced while in New York and Chicago. I would eat this exactly as it is, however if you're not a fan of borderline-spicyness...I'd suggest using slightly less curry powder, and less Thyme. It's not that these ingrediants make it "super spicy", but rather near the bottom of the bowl their respective tastes become profound and a bit overbearing. During the majority of the eating, however, this soup is phenominal! The amount of salt and pepper I added for both these bowls combined was about a half a teaspoon each spice, and it seemed appropriate. I gave the other bowl to a girl who likes spicy food. Although she said it wasn't spicy enough, she admitted to it being delicious. Another innocent cute little girl captured under my bed sheets...thanks to All Recipes and fine food like this. I am forever a fan of this soup and will make it for years to come! Eternally you have my thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vincent J. Marotta III

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Simply incredible. This was one of the first recipes I made from this site, and I've just made it again. Absolutely fantastic. I added some chili powder as well because I was serving people who liked spicy food. Added a teaspoon of cream right from the fridge to the piping hot bowl of soup in a spiral pattern just to add to the presentation. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I really enjoyed this soup! It was exactly what I was looking for and I will be making it again. It was very easy to make. Next time I will use a hot curry. Next time I will probably grate the apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Durham Region, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
We love to make this, it warms us from the inside out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
My husband and I love this soup! We do it without cream for the adults (but use 1/2 & 1/2 for the kids to help their bowls cool down), use brown rice, and I use half curry/half garam masala. Husband adds spicy curry powder and thai chili paste to his bowl to spice it up more. I love that it is adaptable so you can easily use different amounts or different vegetables (I've tried it with parsnips as well as red pepper - both work great). Great blended or left as it is. I always at least triple the recipe in order to have enough leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
If you like curry flavor even a little, you should stop what you are doing and make this right now! I've had it for lunch and dinner yesterday and today and will probably be making more in a day or so! I had two small changes...used shallots (half the amount of onion called for) and made broth with veggie buillon cubes, mostly because it was all I had. I also omitted the cream. I'm sure it would have been delicious but I didn't need it and it was amazing anyways. The only tiny thing wrong was it was a little on the salty side, but that is mostly my fault because I committed the cardinal sin of not tasting before seasoning. So make sure you definitely test before you salt, especially if you are trying to watch your salt intake. This is sure to become a regular recipe in my cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This recipe turned out great! The only things I did different were to add the chicken cubes after the rice had a few minutes to cook so they did not over cook and I didn't have any heavy cream so I served it with a small spoon of Greek yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States