Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Not as spicy as I hoped. I will have to tweak it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fadano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Very good...used some left over shredded rotisserie chicken & water chestnuts instead of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I made this soup (minus the chicken pieces) for a soup night with the neighbors and they all loved it! It has a very well-rounded flavor but is not overpowering. Next time I will use the more yellow type of curry. I purchased mine from the indian market but it was not as yellow as I was accustomed to...I don't know if that is significant or not. You will not be disappointed with this soup. I added a little sugar to the soup...maybe 2 teaspoons...maybe a little less. I feel that this brought out the curry and apples, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Fantastic! I served this at a dinner party with my neighbors and everyone loved it. The only changes I made were to add a clove of garlic and I doubled the curry. I also omitted the cream and instead served a tsp of sour cream on top with a few green onions for presentation. Will definitely make this again. I've already had a few requests for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Amazing flavor. Will double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I used extra virgin coconut oil to saute the veggies in and sprinkeld curry as I went. Also, presauteed my chicken cubes in a seperate small skillet with coconut oil and curry. I really like coconut and curry together so I upped the curry in the flour /curry mix and added some as I went, here also, I added 1 small dash of cayenne pepper. After the 1/2 hr broth boil(didn't have broth, so I used 4 seasoned bouilllon cubes and 4C water because of this, I Omitted the salt, pepper and thyme), I threw in a handfull of unsweetened coconut flakes and the other called for ingredients for this point. This really does get better the longer it simmers. Just make sure to keep stirring from the bottom, as the flour will continue to thicken the soup. The curry really kicks in as it cooks. I mixed unsweetened coconut milk with half and half for the cream mix-in and it really added a nice final touch. Very very good recipe as is. You don't really have to do anything to the orig recipe, I just always add my own touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Substituted fennel for celery & shrimp for chicken. Also added an extra 1/2 tsp curry powder & 1/2 tsp red cayenne pepper. Next time, I'll add pre-cooked rice to soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Delish! Omitted the flour and cream, used EVOO, added a tad more curry, and used brown and wild rice. If you are unsure about adding the apple, don't be. It adds a little bit of sweetness, but you cannot actually taste the apple. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockport, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Yummmm! Try it with a dollop of plain yogurt; so GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This soup is THE BEST chicken soup ever! Even my husband liked it and he's very picky. This is going to be my go-to chicken soup from now on. No more grandma's chicken soup!! The only thing I did differently was I made the rice separately so everyone can add as much or as little as they wanted and I omited the cream because I didn't have it on hand. It was still superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snugabugl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 837) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States