Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Amazing flavor. Will double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I used extra virgin coconut oil to saute the veggies in and sprinkeld curry as I went. Also, presauteed my chicken cubes in a seperate small skillet with coconut oil and curry. I really like coconut and curry together so I upped the curry in the flour /curry mix and added some as I went, here also, I added 1 small dash of cayenne pepper. After the 1/2 hr broth boil(didn't have broth, so I used 4 seasoned bouilllon cubes and 4C water because of this, I Omitted the salt, pepper and thyme), I threw in a handfull of unsweetened coconut flakes and the other called for ingredients for this point. This really does get better the longer it simmers. Just make sure to keep stirring from the bottom, as the flour will continue to thicken the soup. The curry really kicks in as it cooks. I mixed unsweetened coconut milk with half and half for the cream mix-in and it really added a nice final touch. Very very good recipe as is. You don't really have to do anything to the orig recipe, I just always add my own touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Substituted fennel for celery & shrimp for chicken. Also added an extra 1/2 tsp curry powder & 1/2 tsp red cayenne pepper. Next time, I'll add pre-cooked rice to soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Delish! Omitted the flour and cream, used EVOO, added a tad more curry, and used brown and wild rice. If you are unsure about adding the apple, don't be. It adds a little bit of sweetness, but you cannot actually taste the apple. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockport, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Yummmm! Try it with a dollop of plain yogurt; so GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This soup is THE BEST chicken soup ever! Even my husband liked it and he's very picky. This is going to be my go-to chicken soup from now on. No more grandma's chicken soup!! The only thing I did differently was I made the rice separately so everyone can add as much or as little as they wanted and I omited the cream because I didn't have it on hand. It was still superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snugabugl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Super easy to make, and of course with that much butter how could it not be yummy. I sauteed the chicken breasts whole (used 3 instead of 2 for a double batch) before sweating the veggies. I shredded the chicken and added it back once I added the stock. I prefer the chicken shredded, since it doesn't seem to get as dried out. Used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of cream, but next time I think I'll cut the butter in half and use coconut milk. Overall, very yummy soup and going to be a staple in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Excellent. Used olive oil instead of butter. Soup tastes good with or without cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
SO SO YUMMY! I have to say though, I have yet to fully try the whole recipe. I made this when these when all I had was apples, carrots, potatoes, and chicken and was looking for a recipe that used them. I added in the potato, thinly sliced, with the carrots and didn't add the rice or celery. I didn't have the cream either. It was so good that I've made that again instead of trying the actual recipe. But the base for this is fantastic! I LOVE the apples. I think I'll add more next time. They add such a unique flavor, a little surprise. Wonderful. Will be making this one for a LONG time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I am just in the process of making the soup now, so far so good! I did forget chicken broth at the store but it did not seem to matter; I just used water and a little extra salt and little garlic powder. Also I used green curry, which is my favorite, and added chopped zucchini with the apples (a vegetable that I love to have with green curry). This is a fantastic soup! P.S. I cooked my rice separately just to be on the safe side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 813) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States