Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Sorry, did not like this. I have many other soups with similar ingredients that I would prefer to use. I think the flour (which I've never seen in Indian dishes) gave it a bad taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This is the best soup I've ever made! So satisfying. A real comfort food. I made it exactly as written....but chilled it overnight and removed the cold butter that had floated to the top. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Very tasty. To make this vegetarian, grate a fresh tomato into it to give some flavor and use water instead of chicken broth, and just leave the chicken out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
SLOW COOKER METHOD ~ I decided to make this in the slow cooker. The vegetables (Celery, Onion, Carrots and Haricot Verts as well as the 1/2 apple) Sauteed these for about 10 minutes with garlic, thyme, curry powder and black pepper until just softened (I used a little olive oil spray not the butter like the recipe stated), then added the rice to the pan to help to brown this a little and allow it to soak up more flavoring. Added the vegetables/rice to the slow cooker along with 5 chicken breasts and 6 cups of chicken stock. I DID NOT use the heavy cream or the flour. Cooked on slow for 7 hours. This really was a delicious and very easy soup, next time I think I will add just slightly more curry powder (or maybe a hot curry powder) and a little fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Very good recipe! I was looking to duplicate the soup at my favorite restaurant so I made this with a few changes. I made my own broth with a couple of chicken thighs, added some chopped red and green peppers and left out the salt, butter, flour and didn't have any heavy cream. Instead I added a can of cream of chicken soup (lowerfat & sodium) and cooked the rice separately. If you are not accustomed to curry, add a little at a time and test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This is my second time making this soup, and it is always amazing. My household is only made up for 2 people, but I always make enough for 8-10. We eat it for dinner (twice, since we always go back for seconds!) and save it for the next few days. I haven't yet included the apple because I've been discouraged by my partner, but I will sneak one in next time. The only other change I make is to add 1/2 cup french lentils and 1 teaspoon of cumin. I think the cumin is essential to get the real depth of flavour that this soup deserves. Delicious. UPDATED: Have now made this soup around 7 times. I added in the apple and my partner and I both LOVED it (and I really dislike cooked apples.) It does not make the soup taste sweet or sour, but provides a very unique, mild tartness to the soup that helps enhance all the other flavours, much the way adding cream does. Do not hesitate to use both the apples and the cream - they really, really do make a difference to the final product! Excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Wow! So delish! I did double the recipe, and based on other reviews, I substituted 1/2 coconut oil and 1/2 olive oil in place of butter. I also used a full 14 oz. can of coconut milk in place of the heavy cream. I added 3 small spoonfuls of minced garlic, the heads from a bunch of asparagus, and a 6 oz. package of mushrooms to the initial saute. In place of an apple I used a whole large Asian pear (because I had one around), which I grated, and I added 16 dried red chilies, which cooked from the very beginning until the rice and pear were added (the soup had become spiced to my liking - I omitted black pepper). For the rice, I added in pre-cooked jasmine rice (2 c.), because I've had very bad luck with cooking raw rice into soups before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
AWESOME. Added more curry, thyme and rice as I like my soups thicker.....also added my cream when I added the chicken. I am a bit of a cream fanatic and like for it to simmer in my sauces/soups for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Really enjoyed this recipe; it reminded me of a Russian recipe that I love topped with sour cream and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Fantastic recipe. As I am a spicy girl, I will always try to +1.5 or double the original in terms of spices, nevertheless, it was incredible. Use the recipe just as it is and your family will be overly impressed. OKAY! Just made it again. I used a pre-cooked chicken from Costco and shredded the chicken. I also chopped up and through in a Habanero pepper. Niiiiiice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiceSpiceBaby

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 801) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States