Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
In a word...awesome!! I pureed the veggies and broth after Step 1 so my veggie-phobic son would still try it; and it was a hit. I'm glad I made a double batch, because it's disappearing fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I love all things curry so this was right up my alley. I did double the curry powder and before adding the rice and chicken, I pureed the apples that were floating on top. The flavor was good before but I didnt really like biting into the crunchy apples. The puree added creamyness and a sweet/tart to every bite. Last change was I used coconut milk vs heavy cream. Since its a common ingredient in many cuurries I figured it would work well and it def did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Best. Soup. Ever. Hits the spot every time, I have to at least double the recipe every time I make it or it disappears too quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I loved this soup! Just made it for lunch on this cold winter day and very grateful not to have to bundle up to go to the store for ingredients. I had everything I needed. Wonderful flavor - I did double the curry. I will definitely make this soup again. jeanb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
The only time I made this as written was the first time. We all adore this soup. I grate the carrots and dice the apples. I like the crunch of the apple. Also, use crisp apples like Cripps Pink or even Granny Smith as they hold the crispness. If you prefer them to blend in, buy another type and grate them as another reviewer mentioned. I also at least double the Curry powder and will add a little more Turmeric and Cumin to boot. As another reader said, it does get better after a day or two. I have also frozen this soup with fine results. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I would not have tried it if not for the unusual name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
It was yummy, if a bit effortful. I think my mom's chicken curry soup recipe tastes similar but requires a lot less work, so I will stick with that. But thanks anyway for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Outstanding. Don't omit anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeCee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I used coconut cream/milk instead of regular cream and it had a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This recipe was incredible! I made it more out of curiosity than anything else and 3 days later my husband is already asking if we can make it again. I used 2 tsp of curry bowder and 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper. I substituted milk for the heavy cream. I also made a big loaf of bread to go with it (http://www.frugallivingnw.com/frugal-homemaking/amazing-no-knead-bread-step-by-step-recipe/).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Be sure and add slivered almonds and raisins at the end, makes a good thing even better! I did not think the cream was necessary; I liked it better without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 842) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States