Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I loved this soup! Just made it for lunch on this cold winter day and very grateful not to have to bundle up to go to the store for ingredients. I had everything I needed. Wonderful flavor - I did double the curry. I will definitely make this soup again. jeanb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
The only time I made this as written was the first time. We all adore this soup. I grate the carrots and dice the apples. I like the crunch of the apple. Also, use crisp apples like Cripps Pink or even Granny Smith as they hold the crispness. If you prefer them to blend in, buy another type and grate them as another reviewer mentioned. I also at least double the Curry powder and will add a little more Turmeric and Cumin to boot. As another reader said, it does get better after a day or two. I have also frozen this soup with fine results. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I would not have tried it if not for the unusual name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
It was yummy, if a bit effortful. I think my mom's chicken curry soup recipe tastes similar but requires a lot less work, so I will stick with that. But thanks anyway for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Outstanding. Don't omit anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeCee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I used coconut cream/milk instead of regular cream and it had a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This recipe was incredible! I made it more out of curiosity than anything else and 3 days later my husband is already asking if we can make it again. I used 2 tsp of curry bowder and 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper. I substituted milk for the heavy cream. I also made a big loaf of bread to go with it (http://www.frugallivingnw.com/frugal-homemaking/amazing-no-knead-bread-step-by-step-recipe/).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Be sure and add slivered almonds and raisins at the end, makes a good thing even better! I did not think the cream was necessary; I liked it better without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I had my doubts at first, all I could taste was chicken stock; however after the first 30 minutes of simmering the flavors started to come through. I followed the recipe exactly, but next time I will cook the rice separately and add at the end after pureeing the soup (after removing the chicken of coarse). I also browned the chicken first before adding it to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
So delicious! My husband requested that I start making this soup often! Very unique flavor. I add a little sweet potato to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Love love love this recipe! It was more delicious than I could've expected to pull off. I love curry so I upped the amount and also added some curry paste. To cut back on a few calories I used half whole milk and half light cream. Cannot wait to make it again. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 839) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States