Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
My family loves this soup, even my 5 year old. We make it quite often in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenwitch

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is an amazing recipe. I made it for the first time on christmas eve as a lunch. I added a few things that were suggested by others to the recipe and I can't wait to experiment a little more. Added 3 cloves garlic, 2 cm ginger minced, extra teaspoon curry powder, teaspoon garham masala, pinch of curry leaves and instead of cream I used coconut milk. My husband and 3 year old devoured it . Everyone had seconds :) Served with fresh bread yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nantru
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This is one of my favorite soup recipes from this site. The curry is not overpowering at all but is very subtle in the final product. It's hearty, filling, inexpensive and easy to make. What's not to love?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This soup is absolutely delicious! My husband raved about it and he sort of likes everything but rarely loves anything and this one did it! Based on other reviews I did increase the amount of curry and tossed in a little bit of cayenne. I had to increase the broth towards the end b/c it had boiled away a fair bit and was a little thicker than we like. I omitted the cream b/c it was great w/o it and I wanted to reduce fat. I also used half butter and half olive oil. I added the raw chicken right after the celery and carrots to cook it slightly before adding the broth. This gave the chicken a nice flavour. I also grated the apple and used almost a whole one (granny smith) rather than putting in chunks on advice of another reviewer. Thanks for a great recipe. We'll make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I was in the midst of making ginger-curry roasted butternut squash soup but it was tasting bland. Then I thought of adding some apple and chicken and it reminded me of Mulligatawny Soup. What I ended up with was a very similar variation to this soup with the only different ingredient being the squash. It turned out to be delicious. I skipped the thyme and doubled the apple. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This was alright. We like Indian cuisine but hadn’t eaten this particular soup. It was not quite what we were expecting but in fairness to this recipe, we changed some things based on reviewer suggestions. If made again, we would stick closer to the version as written to better know if Mulligatawny Soup could be made more to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Made this last night and was awesome..will up the Curry next time so it will have a little more kick.. also will double the recipe as there was no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Great! Thank you! Didn't add celery and served without the cream (since didn't have any on hand). The rice I used, although basmati, ended up expanding over the next 24 hours and the soup became more like a meal. Next time I will use different rice, or less of this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I printed this for my husband to make using our leftover turkey and turkey broth. He is not a cook by nature, but he had no problem with this. We doubled it and used brown rice instead of white. We also did not add the heavy cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I doubled recipe added 8 oz pkg of sliced mushrooms and 1 potatoe used 2 tsp of flour and added 1 more tsp of curry powder. I also pureed the apples and next time may use some coconut milk. I added the rice to bowls before serving and grated some fresh ginger for personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 818) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States