Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I doubled recipe added 8 oz pkg of sliced mushrooms and 1 potatoe used 2 tsp of flour and added 1 more tsp of curry powder. I also pureed the apples and next time may use some coconut milk. I added the rice to bowls before serving and grated some fresh ginger for personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Yum! Doubled it, used 3 tablespoonsful of curry powder, and used evaporated skim milk in place of cream. Awesome. Husband said I could make this again any time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pawprints
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is quite possibly the BEST. SOUP. I. EVER. MADE. Double or triple the recipe if you make it. This was not 6 servings with the amount that people wanted to eat. More like 3 servings. The only things I did differently were I bought a rotisserie chicken and cut up some for the soup instead of putting in raw chicken. I also added a splash of hot sauce at the end to give it a little more heat. I had an excellent bottle of gourmet ginger-mango hot sauce that was perfect for this soup but any kind would do if you want it hotter. DO NOT omit the apple even though it sounds like it might not be good, it IS!!! EXCELLENT RECIPE, thank you so much for posting this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Definitely double! We had this as a main course and ate so much. It was delicious. I'm not a big soup eater, and I loved this. Unless you hate curry, I can't see why someone wouldn't like this. I followed the recipe fairly closely. When I doubling I did not double the butter. Added a bit more curry and a few dashes of cayenne pepper. Also, I added the chicken when I added the broth. Wanted to make sure it had plenty of time to cook. Wonderful, will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Incredible! To shorten the cook time, I put the chicken in after I add the stock and bring it all to a boil...then simmer. I always have leftover rice, so I use that instead of the uncooked. I wait about 10 minutes, then add the rice and apples. Haven't tried it with the hot cream, but it is delicious just as it is or blended for a lucious creamy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Excellent! If you switch the cream for a can of coconut milk, it's even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This recipe is amazing. It goes so fast that I wound up doubling it. I subbed olive oil for butter and only added 2 tbsp. I also skipped the heavy cream as suggested by others and I didn't miss it. I kept everything else the same and it is delicious. Thanks for this 10 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I make this soup often and always for a crowd. It is great as is but here are my changes: Brown rice for white. Add the apples just before serving so they don't get mushy. I will try suggestions for using coconut oil for butter and coconut milk for cream. I think those would be good variations. I also garnish with parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
SO AMAZING! It's actually hard to believe that something so simple is so delicious. I make it exactly as written EXCEPT I've never tried it with the heavy cream. Don't see the point. Can't wait to have the leftovers tomorrow and freeze the rest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Delicious, and fast. I can't believe that something so simple to make was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States