Mulligatawny Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This was a good healthy soup. I did what others tryed and used potatoes instead of rice and olive oil instead of butter. I like my soups spicy so I added some cayenne pepper and some red pepper flakes. If you want to stay healthy don't add the cream it's awesome without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I usually read through the reviews and make the recipe according to the highest review, but am so glad I didn't on this one. I made it exactly as written and it was divine. I wish it wouldn't have been so filling so I could have another helping. I think potatoes would be a good addition next time. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Amazing recipe! Next time I'll double the recipe. Soup got better the longer it was in the fridge. Picked up some authentic nan bread from Costco. It made the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Loved this. We added more curry during cooking and some cilantro and lime at the end. Will defiantly be on the remake list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
We loved it. I did follow others' suggestions and doubled the curry. Actually doubled the entire recipe too. (But DO double the curry) I used homemade chicken stock. My husband thought it was REALLY good. He interrupted me to tell me how much he loved it. Good enough for me! I am SO making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I found this better than I expected. I too made some changes out of necessity on what I had at the time or because I didn't want to waste something. I used 1 cup each of carrots, celery and onions. I had a leek getting old so I used about a third of that. I doubled the curry out of suggestions from the other reviewers. I used one whole granny smith apple. To my surprise I like the small chunks of apple in this recipe and wished I had more apple in there. Pleasantly surprised by this recipe. My chicken was dark meat because that is what I had. Its good without the cream, but I liked it with cream even better. Its a keeper and if I had a restaurant this one would be on the menu or on the soup bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I have never tried nor heard of a soup like this. I'm really glad I made it, as we all enjoyed it. I made exactly as written, only I made a double batch. I think this is a soup that gets better the longer it sits. It does congeal somewhat when refrigerated, but reheats nicely with more flavor than the first time around. I served this with 'Sweet Cornbread Cake' from AR and we had a delicious meal on a snowy, cold Indiana night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Absolutely delicious. As others have already posted, you can easily double the spice and use an entire apple. You can also use an immersion blender after step 1 and reduce the cream for a healthier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Boyington

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This soup was incredibly flavorful and delicious! I would certainly make it again. I did all just as stated, only added some extra veggies and apples. I baked a chicken in advance and chopped up the meat to use in the soup (and I also used real chicken stock as the base). We served it with sour cream instead of regular cream, since that is what we had available. I also added a dash or two of white wine vinegar in mine, since I love my soup with a bit of 'tang'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
My husband raves about this soup! We left out the heavy cream, based on some reviews. If you like curry, you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 842) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mulligatawny Soup I

See how to make a creamy Indian-inspired chicken, rice, and curry soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States